Mashed Jalapeno-Cilantro Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Awesome! Even my husband liked these and he isn't the biggest sweet potato fan. The only changes I made were to top with pecans instead of walnuts, cut the butter in half during the mashing step, and omitted the melted butter at the end. I suspected that all that butter wasn't totally necessary and I was right (at least for our tastes). Don't skip roasting the jalapeno, it gives the potatoes such a great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
These are amazing!!! I've gotten really tired of the typical sweet potato dishes that are overly sweet and mixed with brown sugar, spices, etc. It's fine for Thanksgiving, but when it comes to summer, I want something with a fresh and bright flavor. This recipe totally fits the bill! I admit, I was running short on time, so I microwaved the potatoes on high for 6 minutes. I used the juice of one small orange. I mashed everything together and that was it. Time to dig in! I didn't bother drizzling the extra butter over top and baking in the oven. I also didn't use the walnut pieces, only because I didn't have any, but I'm sure it's quite tasty! The jalapeno really mellows as it roasts, so don't be afraid of using the whole pepper. Next time I will use two! I will also double the recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Super Yummy! My family isn't a huge sweet potato fan and these were a huge hit! I only had pickled jalapenos, I added a couple shallots, used frozen orange juice concentrate and less butter. They were super good and I found out from a friend that sweet potatoes have a lower glycemic index than other potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Had a nice sharp taste to it, but not too hot. Very moist and not sweet. Very good with pork tenderloin marinaded in southwest adobo marinade. I too, cut the butter in half. Will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Fantastic! The jalapeno and cilantro perfectly balance the sweetness in the potatoes even with the OJ. I did not blend them I just mashed with a fork because others complained about them being too mushy. I did not have any walnuts but I think I will try this with Pecans next time which I think will be a better match for the butter and add some texture. This will be on the menu for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
AMAZING!!! You MUST try these! I followed the recipe exactly and both the boyfriend and I were thrilled with the results. Not too sweet or spicy, just really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious. Very sweet but counteracted by the jalapeno. Loved it. Will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe especially when you don't want the sweet in the sweet potatoes. I boiled them instead of bake therefore I shouldn't have put as much orange juice. I served them with bbq chicken, green beans and corn. Thank-you Terri for sharing an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennywrinkles
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
We made this on our camping trip. I just cooked the sweet potatoes in the campfire wrapped in foil for about 50 min. Also roasted the jalapeno over the fire. I then mashed all the ingredients together except the orange juice, didn't have any and really don't think it was needed or we'd like that addition. Also didn't top with walnuts. These were very good and a nice change from regular grilled sweet potatoes, love the roasted jalapeno and sweet potato combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
My family was not crazy about this recipe, but I did use the white sweet potatoes and not the sweet yams. Perhaps I should try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States