Mashed Jalapeno-Cilantro Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This meal was ok. I appreciated the unique recipe, and I received compliments from my boyfriend on this. However, I think it would have tasted a bit better if it was a tad sweeter. I think next time I will go for more of sweet potato casserole. However, this is a very healthy version and I appreciated the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe especially when you don't want the sweet in the sweet potatoes. I boiled them instead of bake therefore I shouldn't have put as much orange juice. I served them with bbq chicken, green beans and corn. Thank-you Terri for sharing an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennywrinkles
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a delicious recipe! It took my potatoes about 2 hours to become tender enough to mash. I mashed them with a fork instead of a mixer so they had some texture to them. I also cut the butter by half and feel it could use even less if any Next time I will use more peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were so good! I'll admit that I peeled and chopped the potatoes raw and microwaved them instead of baking them with the raw jalapeno already chopped with them, and I threw in two cloves of garlic. I thought that the OJ really gave them a brightness and I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
These were very delicious. Only changes? I didn't bother to peel the jalapeno, it was way to hard to do. Maybe I didn't cook it long enough. I also didn't drizzle the butter at the end because it didn't need it. And for personal preferences I didn't add the nuts. I only gave it four stars because it had a consistincy of baby food, not mashed potatoes, but it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Super Yummy! My family isn't a huge sweet potato fan and these were a huge hit! I only had pickled jalapenos, I added a couple shallots, used frozen orange juice concentrate and less butter. They were super good and I found out from a friend that sweet potatoes have a lower glycemic index than other potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I just had normal potatoes and green bell peppers at home. Since we cannot eat a lot of hot foods, it was good for us. This recipe rocks. Since it was potatoes, I did not mash it with a mixer, kept it chunky. Used less butter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Awesome! Even my husband liked these and he isn't the biggest sweet potato fan. The only changes I made were to top with pecans instead of walnuts, cut the butter in half during the mashing step, and omitted the melted butter at the end. I suspected that all that butter wasn't totally necessary and I was right (at least for our tastes). Don't skip roasting the jalapeno, it gives the potatoes such a great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Yum! Have made these twice already! I even used only 1 tbsp of light butter (for calorie reasons) and these potatoes were still special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I thought the cilantro was a great addition to sweet potatoes. However, the jalapeno was difficult to peel, and did not add much to the flavor. The nuts didn't go with the cilantro flavor. The amount of butter was overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States