Mashed Jalapeno-Cilantro Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
These are amazing!!! I've gotten really tired of the typical sweet potato dishes that are overly sweet and mixed with brown sugar, spices, etc. It's fine for Thanksgiving, but when it comes to summer, I want something with a fresh and bright flavor. This recipe totally fits the bill! I admit, I was running short on time, so I microwaved the potatoes on high for 6 minutes. I used the juice of one small orange. I mashed everything together and that was it. Time to dig in! I didn't bother drizzling the extra butter over top and baking in the oven. I also didn't use the walnut pieces, only because I didn't have any, but I'm sure it's quite tasty! The jalapeno really mellows as it roasts, so don't be afraid of using the whole pepper. Next time I will use two! I will also double the recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
AMAZING!!! You MUST try these! I followed the recipe exactly and both the boyfriend and I were thrilled with the results. Not too sweet or spicy, just really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Loved this! Spicy sweet, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious. Very sweet but counteracted by the jalapeno. Loved it. Will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
My family was not crazy about this recipe, but I did use the white sweet potatoes and not the sweet yams. Perhaps I should try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
So Delicious! The spicy jalapeno with the refreshing cilantro is perfect. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Great recipe! I was surprised by the combination of ingredients but it worked! I doubled it but only added one jalapeno and a 1/4 cup of butter with no butter on top. It was perfect! This is a keeper. I only wish my kids liked sweet potatoes! My husband and I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
My husband has made this recipe a constant request in our house, and we have served it at dinner parties: everybody always loves it! I don't add the butter on top at the end, or walnut peices, simply because I always forget the butter and we have a nut allergy in the house . . . but it's still delicious. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This meal was ok. I appreciated the unique recipe, and I received compliments from my boyfriend on this. However, I think it would have tasted a bit better if it was a tad sweeter. I think next time I will go for more of sweet potato casserole. However, this is a very healthy version and I appreciated the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe especially when you don't want the sweet in the sweet potatoes. I boiled them instead of bake therefore I shouldn't have put as much orange juice. I served them with bbq chicken, green beans and corn. Thank-you Terri for sharing an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennywrinkles
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States