Mashed Chipotle Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Really good! Suprisingly so. Does not need any extra sweetness. Goes well with "Balsamic Glazed Salmon Fillets," also on this site. Perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DASHKAYDOT
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This recipe was AMAZING, though I have to admit, I doctored it to suit my sweet tooth. I added a few table spoons of brown sugar to the mashed potatoes and chipotle peppers, and before I baked it in the casserole dish, I added a brown sugar and pecan topping to the top. YUM. This recipe is coming with me to the Thanksgiving Table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASHKAYDOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Fabulous. This was eaten up by even my non-sweet potato eaters and my die-hard sweet potato/marshmallow casserole lovers. I added a bit of maple syrup to give a little more sweetness and flavor and adjusted the amount of chipotles for the small kids in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Great recipe. I added some brown sugar to the top (as recommended by others) so it would caramelize a bit while baking. I tasted the mix before the brown sugar was added and after with the brown sugar was much better. It adds just a touch of sweet to counteract the smokey heat from the Chipotle. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I just made this recipe with about 5 sweet potatoes mashed and two whole chipotle peppers (plus some added adobo sauce) and brown sugar and boy was it good!! next time I might try scraping some of the seeds out first for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Cib

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This needs 2 or 3 times as much chipotle peppers and adobo sauce for my taste- I was worried about it having too much spice so I made the recipe as stated but the sweet potatoes were still too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I am not normally a fan of Sweet Potatoes because they are usually made too sweet for me. I made this with canned yams (that I already had on hand), drained well and added no extra sweet anything, and I am now a fan of these for sure. Will have to make them with fresh before I can give 5 stars, but the canned worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was fabulous! Even with only half the chipotle peppers, it was plenty hot and the smoky flavor still came through. They made a nice complement to the buttery sweetness of the sweet potatoes. This will definitely become a regular at our house. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memomo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
We love this recipe. I add a bit more chipotle pepper because we like some heat. If you like the smoky flavor but not the heat you can sub smoked paprika for the chipotle pepper. To take it over the top add some coarsely grated manchego cheese. Excellent side with grilled meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wow very very good. This was smoky and had some heat but was mild. I cut this down to what it said was 2 servings which was a I think it called for 1.5 lb potatoes and so I used canned approx same amount draining them first and used the measurements it scaled it down to. I doubled the butter though and removed the seeds from the pepper. I spread this in a pyrex pie plate prepped with non stick spray and baked it along with a main dish for about 45 minutes and it was a hit. DH wouldn't try he doesn't eat sweet potatoes, but I loved this! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States