Mashed Chipotle Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I would've given this 5 stars but my husband preferred our other recipe (sweet potatos with roasted garlic and rosemary, from allrecipes). This was really easy and I loved the smokey heat finish. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Loved it!!! I boiled my potatoes and kept the skins on!!!!? Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arretederaler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is one of our fall favorites. We serve it every time one of our fall holidays comes around, and everyone always raves about it! It's delicious, and very simple to make. If you bake the potatoes the same day you serve, it's even better, because the potatoes are still naturally warm and they haven't gotten cold yet. Will serve this year at my family's Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
We love this recipe. I add a bit more chipotle pepper because we like some heat. If you like the smoky flavor but not the heat you can sub smoked paprika for the chipotle pepper. To take it over the top add some coarsely grated manchego cheese. Excellent side with grilled meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wow very very good. This was smoky and had some heat but was mild. I cut this down to what it said was 2 servings which was a I think it called for 1.5 lb potatoes and so I used canned approx same amount draining them first and used the measurements it scaled it down to. I doubled the butter though and removed the seeds from the pepper. I spread this in a pyrex pie plate prepped with non stick spray and baked it along with a main dish for about 45 minutes and it was a hit. DH wouldn't try he doesn't eat sweet potatoes, but I loved this! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were excellent. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
What a fantastic alternative to sugary sweet potato preparations! My family has avoided sweet potatoes for years because they are so often dripping with sugar or marshmallows (they are called "sweet" potatoes, after all, do they really need to be sweeter?!) but we love LOVE this recipe. It goes in a flash at my department's holiday potluck. At home we really like things hot & spicy, so I add another pepper for extra kick. I've also substituted olive oil for the butter to make it vegan friendly and it makes almost no difference. Thank you SUBEAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My DH, son and myself thought this was just edible. All leftovers were thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This needs 2 or 3 times as much chipotle peppers and adobo sauce for my taste- I was worried about it having too much spice so I made the recipe as stated but the sweet potatoes were still too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I am not normally a fan of Sweet Potatoes because they are usually made too sweet for me. I made this with canned yams (that I already had on hand), drained well and added no extra sweet anything, and I am now a fan of these for sure. Will have to make them with fresh before I can give 5 stars, but the canned worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States