Mashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I really like this recipe. It's quick, easy and tasty. I have been trying to eat less potatoes since they aren't necessarily good for you. Cauliflower is a superfood, and this mashed cauliflower recipe is a great way to make something that taste similar to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaTashaChante
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I tweeked the recipe to what I had already at home and loved it. I put a bag of frozen cauliflower in a pot with almond milk about a quarter up the pot. I let it simmer to soften the cauliflower with garlic salt, pepper and McCormick vegetable seasoning. Once the cauliflower began to soften, I added a container of roasted garlic hummus as a substitute for the sour cream and bread crumbs that I didn't have and mashed it all together on medium heat. It was absolutely wonderful! Loved it and the consistency was wonderful for my first try. I'm sorry I have no measurements. This took about 20 min. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
The mashed cauliflower tasted great, but putting one cup of breadcrumbs on top of it ruined it. I thought it seemed odd to add an entire cup of dry breadcrumbs on top but many reviewers said they followed the recipe exactly and liked it so I did it. But in my opinion having a couple inches thick of dry breadcrumbs on top made it gritty and disgusting. Next time I will serve the mashed cauliflower after mixing it with the butter, milk, and sour cream, and skip baking it in the oven with the breadcrumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is a great alternative for mashed potatoes! I boiled the cauliflower in veg broth, not water. I was heavy handed with the sour cream (closer to 3/4 cup), sub'ed Half & Half for the milk and creamed it with my immersion blender. I made it up in the morning and baked it when I got home from work. My husband is highly skeptical of any change, but said to keep this recipe around! That's HUGE in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Pixley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made a slight change and replaced bread crumbs with freshly grated parmesan cheese. Just before pulling it out of the oven I put on a generous amount of parmesan and when melted turned on broiler to brown slightly. It was so awesome and made this dish gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great mashed cauliflower. The recipe calls for way too many bread crumbs. I will decrease by 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
We loved this, i used cream cheese instead of sour cream. Nummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Yummy alternative to mashed potatoes. Still has the consistency even if you like them lumpy or smooth. I chose to add a little cheese salt and sour cream to mine. They were a little blah but I still really enjoyed them and look forward to doctoring this recipe up often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Very tasty! I added havarti cheese slices to the top before baking and Parmesan cheese in the mix. May cook cauliflower longer next time. It wasn't creamy but nonetheless still really good! Will probably add sautéed onions next time with Panko Bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I tweaked this recipe and it was FANTASTIC! I added a cup of fresh basil and a half a cup of parmesan cheese. I also used a full tsp. of pepper and 1.5 tsp. of salt. I also used the blender trick, instead of mashing it. Everyone in my household went back for seconds and then thirds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States