Mascarpone Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I was making Tiramisu, & realized I didn't have enough Marscapone. I made this recipe, & mixed it with my marscapone mixture & stretched it! It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Humes Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this recipe when I had only half the Mascarpone cheese for my Tiramisu. It tasted too much like cream cheese. I added some sour cream and more butter and cream. It did not taste anything like mascarpone cheese. When they were mixed together it only just passed. I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waitakere , Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Yes, If you tasted this substitute alone, the difference can be noticed... But in recipes such as Tiramisu, very hard to tell. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I like this a lot better than I do real mascarpone, its . I used it in Tiramisu II. My favorite dessert. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Tried this recipe for tiramisu and did not like it. I lived in Italy for the last year and just moved back was so excited to make some and it was no good. The grocery stores around me did not have mascarpone cheese but next time i will make the drive to find the real thing. Tasted really different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I really like this recipe. I was able to find mascarpone in the store but it was something like $9 a tub so I decided to try this. I doubled the butter (which helped get rid of the tang from the cream cheese). I also added a little sugar and vanilla to add some sweetness and flavor. I pretty much just kept tasting it till it was what I was looking for. I used it for a cheesecake recipe and it was awesome. I've also since used it as a filling for stuffed french toast and it turned out delicious! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schultzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I used this to substitute in for a tiramisu recipe and it didn't turn out too well. It tasted like just a lot of cream cheese. I think perhaps next time I will limit the amount of cream cheese and butter, while adding in some flavoring. Perhaps some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanChica_FoodLover

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Worked great in my recipe -thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This worked well as a money-saving substitute for mascarpone in the tiramisu parfaits I made for my church's fundraiser a couple days ago. The mixture still has a cream cheese flavor to it, but it's not overpowering. As my father, who detests cream cheese, said "I could tell there was cream cheese in there, but not enough to make me not like it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good substitute in a pinch. I used it for Tiramisu and my family didn't know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Affogato with Cold-Brewed Coffee

See how to make an amazing hot weather ice-cream and cold-coffee dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States