Mascarpone Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I thought this worked out really well! I mean, it's not the same as actual mascarpone cheese, but in a pinch, it serves the purpose well. Another thing I liked about this recipe is that mascarpone is sooooo expensive and I ALWAYS have these ingredients on hand, so it totally works for me! I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made a fancy mac 'n' cheese a few weeks ago and it called for mascarpone. I vaguely understood what mascarpone was and was quite shocked to see how pricey this stuff is at the grocery store. So, luckily I found this substitute and it worked very well. Easy, inexpensive, creamy, perfect. I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Since I have never tasted the real mascarpone, I cannot make a very good comparison. The overall tiramisu tasted good but you can definitely taste the cream cheese in the recipe. Next time I will try to look harder in the supermarket and try the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
A great money saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this to use in "Classic Tiramisu." It worked very well in that recipe. I'd definitely use it again in recipes calling for mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Recently bought some mascarpone--ouch! $12/lb. When making this, be sure to use UNSALTED butter (to the person who said the recipe was salty). Salted butter can contain varying amounts of salt. This is a good substitute when I get a craving for Tiramisu without having to take out a home equity loan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
very nice where I live it is about 20.00 dollars for one package of Mascarpone this helped alot since I only have 10.00 $s on me right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good. I used this for the Tiramisu Layer Cake on this site since I couldn't find mascarpone in my town. Worked great thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Easy to make and worked as base for banana frosting. I beat in 1 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 mashed banana mashed with a little lemon juice, 1/2 stick butter, and a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I used some other mascarpone substitutes but this is the best one!!!...Easy to make, very delicious in taste and lower in costs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cappuccinoFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Affogato with Cold-Brewed Coffee

See how to make an amazing hot weather ice-cream and cold-coffee dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States