Mascarpone Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This worked well as a money-saving substitute for mascarpone in the tiramisu parfaits I made for my church's fundraiser a couple days ago. The mixture still has a cream cheese flavor to it, but it's not overpowering. As my father, who detests cream cheese, said "I could tell there was cream cheese in there, but not enough to make me not like it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good substitute in a pinch. I used it for Tiramisu and my family didn't know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I'm not sure what Mascarpone cheese is suppose to taste like (I could'nt find it at my local grocery store) but the dish I used this recipe for tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Excellent. Will use this again. No changes needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Outstanding! I used this recipe today for my tiramisu filling. I recommend the recipe as is and would not change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krishan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Sorry, but this taste like cream cheese which has too much "tang" to it compared to mascarpone. Not as lush & creamy either. I would only use this sub if there were no mascarpone in town. I love the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Perfect substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This did work in a pinch for me but you can taste the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe. All the stores in my area were OUT of mascarpone (been waiting for a week for them to get more in). Drove me nuts as I was really wanting to try a tiramisu recipe I found! Anyway, I did not have cream cheese but I had neufchatel cheese so I used that and unsalted butter. The taste was great! If I had not found this recipe, I would have eaten the ladyfingers I purchased with some strong coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boltsbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I thought this worked out really well! I mean, it's not the same as actual mascarpone cheese, but in a pinch, it serves the purpose well. Another thing I liked about this recipe is that mascarpone is sooooo expensive and I ALWAYS have these ingredients on hand, so it totally works for me! I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Affogato with Cold-Brewed Coffee

See how to make an amazing hot weather ice-cream and cold-coffee dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States