Masala-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eamon
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Simple, excellent recipe. I used a 7 lb bird so I threw in some extra garlic, lime and masala. The smell of the chicken roasting reminded me of apple pie. The masala gives it a nice spice and the lime a tangy kick. You can never use too much garlic and I recommend more than 10 cloves. A+ Countess, nice job :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eamon
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had a 5-1/4lb young chicken and aside from changing the end roasting time-20 min per lb. I too added extra cloves under the skin and some sea salt to the masala. THIS IS AN AWESOME RECIPE- 3 adults devoured the whole thing! This is now a regular in this house. Thank you Countess!!!!!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I've made this twice now and both times it came out great. The smell in the house was amazing and being that I love Garam Masala I was ever so pleased to try this. Expect a juicey chicen and a great taste from all the garlic and lime combo. The only thing I did different the 2nd time was add more lime juice prior to putting the rub on and added extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Yummie, My boyfriend love it. Next time I will use more lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Renee'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great flavour twist. Loved the lime juice combination. I will use this recipe again and again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
All the flavors blended well together and it made the roasted chicken a lot more exciting than normal. The only things I did differently were to cut up the garlic a bit because my cloves were big and add the lime juice before the garam masala because I didn't want the lime to wash away the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
the taste was alright...hubby liked it but i didn't really... it didn't taste bad though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
It was pretty good. I couldn't taste much of the lime in some parts of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
It was my first time cooking a whole chicken and I choose this recipe because it looked simple. I loved the results! The cooking time was spot on and it was very moist. I didn't have a lime so I substituted a lemon and it was good. I also added some cayenne red pepper with the garam masala for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I really wanted to like this recipe because of the garam masala. I followed it pretty closely (didn't add any other ingredients to "spice it up" as so many reviewers do). However, instead of cutting into the skin to insert the garlic, I loosened the skin on the breast side and put 10 cloves of garlic in various places under the skin. It does smell delicious while it's cooking, but I couldn't even taste the lime, and I'm not sure I understand why the chicken is cooked breast side down. When I flipped it over, the breast side was not very appetizing-looking. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States