Masala-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eamon
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Simple, excellent recipe. I used a 7 lb bird so I threw in some extra garlic, lime and masala. The smell of the chicken roasting reminded me of apple pie. The masala gives it a nice spice and the lime a tangy kick. You can never use too much garlic and I recommend more than 10 cloves. A+ Countess, nice job :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eamon
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had a 5-1/4lb young chicken and aside from changing the end roasting time-20 min per lb. I too added extra cloves under the skin and some sea salt to the masala. THIS IS AN AWESOME RECIPE- 3 adults devoured the whole thing! This is now a regular in this house. Thank you Countess!!!!!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I've made this twice now and both times it came out great. The smell in the house was amazing and being that I love Garam Masala I was ever so pleased to try this. Expect a juicey chicen and a great taste from all the garlic and lime combo. The only thing I did different the 2nd time was add more lime juice prior to putting the rub on and added extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Yummie, My boyfriend love it. Next time I will use more lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Renee'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great flavour twist. Loved the lime juice combination. I will use this recipe again and again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
All the flavors blended well together and it made the roasted chicken a lot more exciting than normal. The only things I did differently were to cut up the garlic a bit because my cloves were big and add the lime juice before the garam masala because I didn't want the lime to wash away the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
the taste was alright...hubby liked it but i didn't really... it didn't taste bad though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
It was pretty good. I couldn't taste much of the lime in some parts of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
It was my first time cooking a whole chicken and I choose this recipe because it looked simple. I loved the results! The cooking time was spot on and it was very moist. I didn't have a lime so I substituted a lemon and it was good. I also added some cayenne red pepper with the garam masala for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I really wanted to like this recipe because of the garam masala. I followed it pretty closely (didn't add any other ingredients to "spice it up" as so many reviewers do). However, instead of cutting into the skin to insert the garlic, I loosened the skin on the breast side and put 10 cloves of garlic in various places under the skin. It does smell delicious while it's cooking, but I couldn't even taste the lime, and I'm not sure I understand why the chicken is cooked breast side down. When I flipped it over, the breast side was not very appetizing-looking. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States