Masala-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Could not taste the masala at all. Not very flavorful except for some garlic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Super easy and really good! But I probably won't bother with the lime next time--it didn't really add anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My husband and daughter liked this pretty well, although they found it a little to garlicy. Simple to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
The bird turned out nice and moist, but the citrus was hard to define. I used a whole lemon, squeezed it on before the garam masala, then put the rinds inside the cavity. Instead of using the "20 mins per pound" rule, I used a thermometer with an alarm when it hit 180 degrees. Then I let it rest, tented in foil, for 10 mins while I made some pasta as a side. Pretty good; I liked the lack of salt; will probably make again with a tweak or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Good recipe and I served it with Indian bread and Mango chutney. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Keeping to my New Years resolution to follow a recipe 100% the first time I try it (though there are ways around that rule). I just made the chicken and I'm very impressed. I had to make my own Garam Masala as I didn't have any pre-made. This was a very educational process. Just look at the number of Garam Masala recipes on this site alone. I chose one and loved the results. Those folks that didn't like this recipe should do some research on how to make your own. The variations of ingredients mean that every time you make this recipe it can taste different from the last time you made it. I'm going to use variations on more chicken, shrimp, talapia, etc. I think this recipe is a true winner for how easy it is to make, yet how complex the flavors can be with some effort. Thank you Countess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
What a interesting idea! I left out the lime, as most people said it didn't add anything, made sure to rub the masala UNDER the skin, and stuck some pats of butter in there as well. It went great as a protein bonus for the meat eaters to a vegetarian Indian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Yum! My husband, friends, and I love this unique, flavorful roasted chicken. It is so easy to prepare. The skin roasts perfectly with the lime juice. I only use 1 garlic clove because I don't like too much of it. I press it and then put the little pieces under the skin, rather than whole cloves. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was good but I don't consider it a "keeper"- it was a little too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was delicious. What was bad about it was there was not enough for leftovers. Next time planning to make 2 chickens at once for leftovers. I made fresh naan and dal and dinner was complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States