Masala Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I wored with a young lady from India who advised me to add a little ginger and kick up the cardomom a notch (smile). This recipe was excellent. I also had to substitute heavy cream for the milk (as the kid used it all on chocolate milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Just bought some fresh ingredients today and tried this recipe...WOW!!! I love it so much! The drink came up irresistable! Thanx a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adelina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarigrad, Drochia, Moldova
Living In: Bracknell, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
mmmmm! This recipe is so worth it - it beats powdered chai mix anyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
So good and much better than the instant stuff. Once you invest in the spices, also much less expensive than Oregon Chai. Even better with ginger and more cardamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I love chai teas!! I especially love using tea leaves to control the sweetness. I reduced the pepper to half because I think it tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Delicious and simple. I assumed green cardamom pods as opposed to black, and left out the sugar as I don't like my tea to taste like candy. :) Also fwiw, I have some authentic Indian masala chai and it uses black Assam tea, however I didn't have any on hand so used regular Orange Pekoe and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This tea is very bland and not like in Indian restaurants. I can`t feel no one spice, it seems like I`am drinking simple tea with milk. 2-3 minutes are not enough to make all spices give their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I loved it! Been trying to find that recipe forever. All I could ever make did not even come close to this. I did modified the milk to 1/4 cup though. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I'm giving this 3 stars coz this could do with a tad more of the spices. And ginger is a must to give it the authentic taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this was very good, however i made a few changes so that I could have a more spicy chai. i added one star aniseed pod and 2 slices of fresh ginger which i strained out with the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States