Ma's Premium Ice Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I used a whole 1/2 gallon of ice cream and made my own crust with chocolate graham crackers. I had to put it in a deep dish pie pan & it was pretty full I did not find the sauce hard to spread at all. Can use any flavor ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is absolutely wonderful! It is now a staple in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Used the choc crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
My kids are cake people not pie people, so here is what I did (I tried it once as written and I loved it myself)-baked a yellow cake in a springform pan, and then did pretty much everything else the same except after freezing overnight, I removed it from the pan and covered with chocolate ganache and returned to freezer. To die for. I agree that you need to keep it in the freezer longer than 15 or 20 minutes between layers, more like 30-45 minutes or longer if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made this for a large party and so doubled the ice cream part using quarts. I made my own chocolate cookie crumb crust (just google it for the recipe). I made it in a large cheesecake pan with removable sides. Everyone loved it and I will make this again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
what a great flexible idea. you can do this with any flavor crust or icecream and kids can do the entire thing with minimal help. thanks. - laurie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious! I made this on top of a cookie dough crust and topped it with a chocolate ganache! Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I honestly was not impressed. I seem to be the only one who didn't love it, so it might be me. The icecream became crystalline and was weird with the fudge sauce. Oh well, there are other recipes out there to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is the best! I can't do double chocolate, so I've used peanut butter ice cream as well as coffee ice cream instead. This recipe is soooo easy as well - can't go wrong w/ this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R98275

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I used vanilla ice cream on the bottom and chocolate on the top layer with hot fudge sauce and crushed Oreos in the middle... yum! Everyone loved this recipe - adults and children! A couple of alterations were needed: 1) It takes longer than 15 minutes to freeze each layer - probably at least 30 minutes. 2) Be sure the 1st layer of ice cream is extra soft, but not liquidy, so that the crust doesn't break apart and stick to the ice cream. 3) Don't use too much not fudge, or it over takes the pie. This is very easy - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States