Marzipan Christmas Kringle (Juleskringle) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I was looking for something to bake on Christmas that was a little fancier than my standard cinnamon rolls. This was perfect. The dough is nice to work with and is very delicate and has fantastic flavor. The end result is very pretty- it's a shame we ate it before I thought to take a picture. A couple tips: Make sure to seal the seams very very well- it has a tendency to blow out. I couldn't find almond paste so I ran some sliced almonds and some butter in the food processor until it was smooth. I don't know if that is very authentic but it tasted great! If I could rate this a 4.5 I would for the following reasons: 1- The dough is very fattening with the heavy cream, 2- The cardamom makes this relatively expensive to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Thank you very much for this recipe. We had a bakery that baked these and I have been trying to figure out how to make them ever since it closed! The directions were good but I don't think that the wiodth of the strip is meant to be 2". I ended up making it 6". The dough was sticky so I put some flour on the waxed paper which helped. The sugar coating helped to prevent it from sticking when I stretched the tube. I think another time I would stretch it quite a lot farther to make a narrower Kringle. We would put in less sugar and no almond extract and no cinnamon next time as well. It is fussy, but it is very nice. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This bread is very, very good. I've made it twice now and it's gotten easier each time. I recently made it for a Christmas party and everyone LOVED IT and wanted the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My family loves marzipan things, so I decided to try this last Christmas. It was a huge hit, and now I'm back this year to make it again! I wasn't able to find almond paste last year, so I made my own which was VERY time consuming. So glad I found a can this year! The nice thing about this recipe is the tube can be shaped into something other than a ring. Last year I made a heart, not sure what I'll do this year, I may attempt a snowflake. I did make mine wider, about 3-4".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was a *fantastic* bread recipe! The dough is soft and flavorful but the almond paste filling puts it over the top! I made my own almond paste and rolled the dough out into two 12"x6" rectangles, which I then rolled up and formed into rings. I left out the sliced almonds because my kids won't eat nuts they can see, and sprinkled the top with raw coarse sugar. I will absolutely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CA cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I had some marzipan that I wanted to use. I more or less followed the recipe; I replaced the heavy cream with milk. I added vanilla sugar instead of cardamom. I separated one egg, brushed the egg white on the dough before I put the filling on. It helps the roll to stay together. After I let the bread rise, I brushed the egg yolk on the top and added sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I'm still trying to figure out how to get filling in a 2in.wide strip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by punkim30
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is delicious and fun to make! I was so excited to make this recipe. I made my own almond paste (not as hard as it sounds). I also only used the almond paste as the filling, with sprinkling on some sliced almonds over the top of it, and a little bit of cinnamon and sugar (I did not combine the almond paste, 1/2 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon and almond extract together). The marzipan/almond paste is plenty sweet and already has almond extract in it, so 1/2 cup sugar more is unnecessary (in my personal taste). I also wanted less of a cinnamon taste and more of an almond taste. One thing that helped with forming the pretzel shape was watching a you tube video on kringle. There is a bakery that shows how to shape it. The width of the dough should be 6 inches, not 2, when you roll it out, with the filling taking up the very middle 2 inches. Then fold over each side on top of the filling, seal, and pat out any air bubbles. Then kind of stretch the roll as you lift it and then shape like the pretzel (I didn't actually roll the dough into a log to stretch it, or roll it in sugar at this point). After forming the pretzel shape, I used the egg wash and sprinkled the top with raw sugar and the sliced almonds. Beautiful and delicious! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States