Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Good cookie and flavor was not too over bearing. I refrigerated the dough over night because I ran out of time to roll them out. I was afraid it was going to be too hard and dried to make a good cookie, but after it warmed a little bit I was able to roll it out. The cookie was not too soft it fell apart or to hard. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Bishop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I've made this recipe the past few years for my annual Christmas sugar cookie decorating party. They are absolutely delicious and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is the first time that I have wrote a review on here. I had to give this recipe a 5 star rating ! The edges were crisp and the cookie tasted like perfection !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Hands down, this is our favorite sugar cookie recipe. We always leave out the almond extract though. For variety, sometimes we put one TB of orange zest in the dough. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made a batch yesterday and it was exactly what I was looking for. I usually make a thin crispy cut out and decorate with colored sugars. My husband was crying for a "real" cut out with frosting this year. So, I was looking for a recipe that was not too thin and crispy and that was not too thick and chewy, something right in between. This recipe completely fits the bill! After making the dough, I flattened it out with my palms and wrapped in plastic and chilled for an hour. My fridge runs super cold, so when I pulled the dough out, it was def. too hard to work with. Just cut the flattened dough in half and let it warm up a little before rolling. I had absolutely no issues with flaking, cracking or stickiness. I use a rolling cloth with a dusting of flour and use a rolling sock on my roller. Works perfectly. You do need to roll a little thicker than usual, and I only baked the cookies for about a 6 minutes. You do not want them to brown at all. I also use parchment instead of spray, I let the cookies sit for a minute to stabilize before moving to a wire rack. easy peasy, they moved perfectly. These cookies are a little crispy on the outside, but tender on the inside and taste delish!! I frosted with a standard buttercream that hardens on the surface but stays melt in your mouth inside. YUM!! I used standard size Christmas cutters and it made 60 cookies. Excellent and exactly, exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
We never make any sugar cookies but these, and they always get rave reviews! Be sure to use unsalted butter...salted butter significantly changes the taste, in my opinion, and margarine causes the cookies to be too soft and spread out too much in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
It worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Great cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superbbmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Carrollton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I tried this because I was out of granulated sugar but had powdered sugar. The cookies are good. They're definitely not the best sugar cookies I've ever had. But I am partial to cookies that have a small amount of dairy in them, such as cream cheese or sour cream. They were a tiny bit difficult to roll out. I had to add a little extra flour when rolling them. I would make this again in a pinch though. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
THE BEST SUGAR COOKIE I EVER HAD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States