Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Family favorite for Christmas cut outs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were my Aunt Margie's signature cookies and the only one I liked, until I discovered homemade Oreos. They are still my all time favorites. Hers were always bigger, fluffier and softer. I prefer mine harder and crunchier, but my family doesn't. Just can't duplicate them like she made them, but they are still incredible to me. I was so happy that the site had the recipe. I had misplaced my copy for awhile. These are the absolute best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I have been making these cookies for 40 years. Yes, the dough is a little difficult to handle and it tends to crack, but you won't find a better sugar cookie. It is not Christmas in my daughter's house until a plate of these arrive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was one of the best sugar recipes I have ever made and I have made many over the years. The cookies are so good, no icing is really needed. Light and crisp cookie. Thanks so much for sharing! This is now a regular cookie in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are good, but not the best. I usually use the Best Rolled Sugar Cookie recipe from this site, but chose this one this time. I followed the instructions, but the dough did crack a little when rolling. After baking for the specified time, I had a few cookies completely break after removing them from the pan. The flavor is terrific (I do love almond flavoring), so I wish I had had better luck this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Made this recipe for years and watched it deteriate over time. Problem: I was using the same jar of cream of tarter for the last 6 years. Buy some fresh cream of tarter everyone!!!!! and if you don't have almond extract remove a 1/2 of the flour and replace it with a 1/2 cup of Red Mill Almond flour (or grind your own almonds in a food processor). The almond flour gives it just the slightest meaty kind of a texture but the cookies are delicate (with or without the almond flour) and these are not good for shipping to Iraq or Afganistan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My office loved these for Halloween! Will definately make again and again! Note: I found it easier to roll out straight from the fridge as opposed to letting it sit. Plus I had to use lots of flour cause it was a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizanoel21
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I too have been using this recipe for most of my cooking lifetime. it is from Betty Crocker's Cooky Book - 1978. It has become my signature cookie since everyone loves it. QUESTION - I wanted to make it into a chocolate version and I'm not sure what adding cocoa powder would do to the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I have tried many sugar cookie recipes and this is the only one I have liked. My kids absolutely loved this recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States