Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was horrible!! threw it in the trash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I love this recipe. I have used it since the 70's. It is the one I used with my children and now will use it to make cutout cookies with my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is the recipe our family has been using for 40 years. It's not Christmas until we have at least one batch of trees, bells and stars. They're not overly sweet, but perfect once they're iced and decorated with sprinkles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've been making these cookies for years. They are the family favorite for cut out cookies. I love the vanilla/almond flavor combo. I got the recipe from the Betty Crocker Cooky Book printed in the mid 1960's. I add 1/2 tsp salt and leave out the baking soda and cream of tartar so they won't change shape. I've also found it easier to divide the dough and chill it for about 15 minutes, roll each half out between sheets of parchment paper and re-chill it for about an hour. It makes cutting out the cookies easier and you can remove the excess then bake them right on the parchment paper to prevent sticking and over browning the underside. I re-chill the excess dough and start the process again when I have time. It's stays good for up to 3 days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe was perfect- not too sweet and just tender enough to pass off as a shortbread. Note: I used self raising flour ( by mistake) and rolled between sheets of saran wrap. Veyr very forgiving dough as long as you chill thoroughly before and in between uses. This is a keeper. I made easily 120 mini christmas cookies for school. Will be making a second batch today. This will take nicely to a glaze icing and some colored sugar sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very easy to make. Delicious with frosting from this site. My three year old daughter helped me make these and they were easy to make. She really enjoyed helping her mama use cookie cutters. To roll them out I put them between two wax papers cause they do stick to the rolling pin. All in all a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Good recipe for taste. Versatile as well - I can see adding other flavor extracts in place of the almond (coconut, raspberry, etc). Once the dough chills, you do need to let it warm up slightly so that it's pliable to roll. I cut out my cookies then put them into the freezer until just before baking so that they keep their shape better. If you bake them when they're room temperature, they will spread out quite a bit and lose their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My new favorite! The almond extract makes these cookies! I doubled the recipe and added an extra cup of flour, perfect flavor, nicely sweet. The kids *loved* the dough. I did manage to make car cookies for our derby car race tomorrow. I did refrigerate the dough for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I followed the recipe perfectly, then let it chill overnight. The consistency of the dough didn't change at all and it was impossible to roll out and use a cookie cutter, which was what the instructions say it will do and what I needed it to do. Not sure if it's the copious amounts of butter or some other factor, but this recipe bombed. Try a different one and save yourself ingredients and time. Sorry, Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
SCORE!!! I had stopped making sugar cookies a few years ago because I found them to be overly sweet or bland. I was cooking with children and I wanted them to cut out cookies and decorate them, so I found this to be the best rated sugar cookie recipe and decided to give it a go, not expecting to really like them. Everyone, including myself, loved them. They are just as most reviewers said, light, crisp without being crunchy, and the hint of almond takes the taste over the top. I followed the recipe, weighing the sugar (6 oz) and flour (10.6 oz) instead of measuring it. I did not sift the sugar and the only change I made was to add about a 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the dry ingredients. I recommend dividing the dough in half before you put it in the refrigerator instead of waiting until you are about to roll the dough out. This makes it easier to work quickly with the dough while it is still firm and cool. Sugar cookies will definitely be back on my holiday baking list this Christmas, now that I've got the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States