Mary's Roasted Red Pepper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Yum! This dip turned out really well. I made it almost exactly as written, except that I reduced the mayo and substituted half of the mustard with prepared horseradish. I agree with one of the other reviewers that tortilla chips are too salty and take away from the flavor. Nice crackers, little toasts or served in a bread bowl would be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harveys Lake, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was a GREAT dip!! Very easy to make and lots of flavor. I disagree about serving with tortilla chips though - the salt in tortilla chips overpowers the flavors. Play around with your serving choices to see what you like best :) I made this as-is in terms of ingredients, but instead of dicing up red peppers (Which I made myself instead of buying the canned varieties), i made the entire dip in the food processor. So instead of a chunky dip, this came out a nice creamy dip. I was worried about the greasiness as others have mentioned, but maybe the puree helped keep that from happening? Because I warmed it up a couple of times after inital baking and it never separated. Two big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Very good! Loved by all! My only negative is that it was quite a bit greasy as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was a very good dip. I made it for the adults at my 2 year old's birthday party. Everyone kept asking me for the recipe. The only suggestion I got was to maybe add some parmesean next time. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was good but as written you wouldnt be able to taste the red peppers. I used a 10oz jar (and then one ADDITIONAL red pepper I had in a jar in the fridge) I used onion poweder and garlic powder. Also, i used about 2 tablespoons of mayo...not the full cup. and i pulsed the peppers and cream cheese in a food processor to get a nice creamy smooth texture. will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I give this 3.5 stars. It was pretty good. Not fantastic, but good. I heated it, then scooped out a sweet Hawaiian bread bowl and served it in that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
So good and so easy to put together. I followed the suggestions posted and used pepper jack cheese. Three of us ate this dip in no time flat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow, this tasty. I've always wanted to try a roasted red pepper dip and I'm glad I did. This is very easy to make. I roasted my own red peppers (2 of them), and also grilled a bit of onion before I chopped it up. I then chopped one of the peppers and pureed the other. I also used 1/2 mayo, 1/2 sour cream and used a box grater for my clove of garlic because I didn't want to accidentally have someone bite into a big chunk of garlic. Thanks for the recipe, it a nice to try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was a big hit at the get together I attended last night. Everyone commented on it. I took other people's advice and used only 3/4 cup of mayo, added a sprinkle of hot sauce and crushed red pepper. Next time I will try adding horseradish to give it real zip. Sprinkled parmesan cheese on top. Will go in my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I really liked this! I made it last night for a get-together with my girlfriends, and several of them asked for the recipe. I did sub lite sour cream for half the mayo. For less grease. I bet it is pretty forgiving, for instance I think you could probably use many different kinds of cheese to experiment with different flavors. I might try with some Italian blends next time. It's a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Button Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States