Mary's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was a truly delicious meatloaf! I've always made the recipe on the back of Lipton's Onion Soup mix with a few alterations (that's how my mom always made it), but I was in the mood for something new. This recipe is officially my new go-to. I didn't have any bread on hand, so I did as another reviewer suggested and used oats instead. I also only had 1 lb of meat, so I reduced all the ingredients by about 1/3, still used 1 whole egg, and used 1/2 cup of oats in lieu of bread. I also added about 2/3 of a small green bell pepper along with the onion, which I ran through the food processer (I was too lazy to chop), and the results were fantastic! Since my meatloaf was smaller, I only cooked it for about 1.5 hours, adding the glaze when there was 1 hour cooking time left. I served it with Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes (recipe from this site) and green beans. Overall, this was a very easy, tasty dish, and I recommend it wholeheartedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
YUM! I doubled the recipe, added ground pork and some Worcestershire sauce, cut back the brown sugar a bit for the glaze, used seasoned bread crumbs & cooked for about an hour and a half. So moist. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My husband was disappointed that there wouldn't be any leftovers for the next day. We all loved this meatloaf. I think it is the best I have made. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Meatloaf is one of my husband's favorite dishes and he absolutely loves this recipe. Like another reviewer, I used 1/2 cup gluten free whole oats rather than bread and it was amazing-- both the flavor and texture. I've also started using coconut palm sugar or maple syrup instead of brown sugar. This is the ONLY recipe I've been using now for over two years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was yummy! I substituted 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs in place of the bread. I cut the salt in half because of my substitution and it was wonderful. Everyone was disappointed that it went so fast and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this without the glaze (husband doesn't like the sweet stuff), but I did put a very thin layer of bbq sauce on the top before baking. I also used a veal/pork/beef ground combo, and only a pound of it. I baked it in a 6 cup muffin tin for about 45 minutes on 375 degree. Soooo good - moist and not too crumbly. This will be my new go-to meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Was really good. Hubby really liked the glaze. Did not take full 2 hours to bake. Next time I will grind up bread crumbs, as cubing them made for some larger slimy pieces. Otherwise followed recipe and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCLYNND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
When your boyfriend says its the best meatloaf hes ever had, even better than his mother's, you know its good stuff. 5 stars, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I usually don't like left over meat loaf, but this was really good just heated up a slice at a time along with a piece of buttered bread for lunch. Since I'm not a picky eater I had enough left over after cutting the recipe in half for 4 lunches. Thank you Mary it is excellent. I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn Burbank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
awesome, a bit hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States