Mary's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
We loved this meatloaf. I made the following changes: 1/2 large onion, 3 slices whole wheat bread sliced into small cubes and dampened with water. No milk and added about 1 tablespoon of brown sugar to the mix. I have tried this recipe before and my family did not like the mustard/ketchup/sugar mixture for the top of the meatloaf so I just used ketchup. I used a 9X12 pan and put the loaf in the middle and the quartered potatoes around. I basted the potatoes after about 45 minutes. Cooked for 1 1/2 hours only. Nice and moist. Next time I will line the pan with heavy foil and oil it. Very tasty and an easy recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I used Dijon Mustard! Loved this recipe! This will be the one I make from now on. Really moist & tasty! Do not dry out even after frozen for left over's! I also used ground pork & beef & was delicious. Next time I will use ground pork & ground turkey! Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
It lacked flavor and fell apart. I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I used venison burger instead of ground beef and it was the best meatloaf I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is a really moist and tasty meatloaf. Like many others I made a few changes. I only had 1lb of beef, so of course that's what I used. Instead of the bread crumbs, I took another reviewer's advice and used oats. I was low on ketchup, so I used mild salsa instead. I sauteed onions (plus garlic) in olive oil before adding them to the loaf. And because I sometimes suck at following directions, I added my brown sugar in the loaf. ;/(I got some of it out though) .... Again like another reviewer, because I only had 1lb of beef, I cooked my loaf for 1.5 hrs. It was delicious. My boyfriend went back for seconds. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was a truly delicious meatloaf! I've always made the recipe on the back of Lipton's Onion Soup mix with a few alterations (that's how my mom always made it), but I was in the mood for something new. This recipe is officially my new go-to. I didn't have any bread on hand, so I did as another reviewer suggested and used oats instead. I also only had 1 lb of meat, so I reduced all the ingredients by about 1/3, still used 1 whole egg, and used 1/2 cup of oats in lieu of bread. I also added about 2/3 of a small green bell pepper along with the onion, which I ran through the food processer (I was too lazy to chop), and the results were fantastic! Since my meatloaf was smaller, I only cooked it for about 1.5 hours, adding the glaze when there was 1 hour cooking time left. I served it with Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes (recipe from this site) and green beans. Overall, this was a very easy, tasty dish, and I recommend it wholeheartedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
YUM! I doubled the recipe, added ground pork and some Worcestershire sauce, cut back the brown sugar a bit for the glaze, used seasoned bread crumbs & cooked for about an hour and a half. So moist. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My husband was disappointed that there wouldn't be any leftovers for the next day. We all loved this meatloaf. I think it is the best I have made. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Meatloaf is one of my husband's favorite dishes and he absolutely loves this recipe. Like another reviewer, I used 1/2 cup gluten free whole oats rather than bread and it was amazing-- both the flavor and texture. I've also started using coconut palm sugar or maple syrup instead of brown sugar. This is the ONLY recipe I've been using now for over two years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was yummy! I substituted 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs in place of the bread. I cut the salt in half because of my substitution and it was wonderful. Everyone was disappointed that it went so fast and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States