Mary's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by milfamchef
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This made way too much for my 9" pan. The cheesecake ended up all over the bottom of my oven when it raised 3" over the top of the pan. The outside was burned and the middle was undercooked. It seems like the combination of ingredients is fine but the amounts are excessive (even the crust was way too much) and the baking portion of the recipe is not right. I am willing to retry with adjustment suggestions by other reviewers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Hello Ladies! I am a 23 yr old almost graduate that loves to cook but clearly has a lot to learn when it comes to the kitchen. I absolutely love to cook and decided I would try out making a cheesecake. I used this recipe because of all of the great comments about how well it turned out (thank you everyone). I modified the recipe quite a bit. I made the crust, then added a layer of honey peanut butter before pouring the cheesecake in. I added 4 frozen bananas (thawed in the microwave) and cinnamon to the cheesecake batter. I did not use any lemon juice. I cooked it at 360 for 75 minutes with a water bath, then followed the rest of the directions with letting it sit for 30 minutes with the oven closed then open for 30 minutes. It is currently in the fridge and looks absolutely fantastic. Tomorrow morning I am going to smother it in melted Nutella then let it sit the rest of the day in the fridge before the party tomorrow. I was not completely sure what exactly a water bath was, so I just put a pan of water underneath in hopes that it would work and I think it did! I have no cracks in the cheesecake. I will let everyone know how it turned out! I have high hopes for it! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
i used a 9x11 pan and it fit perfectly and taste wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.dawnB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I did not have a pan big enough to do a water bath, so I braved it without one. Alas, my cheesecake cracked, but when the pieces were cut, who could tell? It was delicious, and I received many compliments on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Cheesecake is great. I read reviews before making and saw where a lot of people who rated this recipe, said there was to much batter, so I changed the servings (listed under 'ingredients'". I changed sevings to 12 and it fit into the 9" pan very good. Will make it again for Christmas. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Nice flavor. Way too much batter. I think I could have probably made 2 cheesecakes from the amount. I made 1 overflowing cheesecake and 18 minicheesecakes. The top totally cracked around all of the edges because I put too much batter in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this cheesecake for our family get-together. One certainly was not enough. It was The Best in Show!!! My daughter-in-law had never had a "real" baked cheesecake and now I'm sure will never return to a box cheesecake. Everyone raved about how it just melted on the tongue. It's a recipe we will keep in our family generation after generation. So incredibly easy to make also! This recipe actually should receive a 10 Star rating...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by askangela
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
this recipe turned out well. the cake was more smooth than fluffy, like satin. not quite as sweet as I expected. but very rich and creamy. My family liked it very much even without the topping(which came from a can). the recipe is easy to follow and easy to assemble. use the 10 inch or 11 inch pan if you have one, or else you will have to much for the 9 inch. I did not use the water bath method and mine came out fine. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylor White
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I have never made cheesecake before and this turned out fantastic! I even added blue dye and strawberries to make it 4th of July cheesecake. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This cheesecake has so much flavor and it's the best recipe I've made. I've tried a lot of cheesecake recipes throughout the years yet this is my all time favorite. I do use a waterbath to prevent cracking and I use a little less graham crackers for the crust but I use the ingredients suggested for the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States