Mary's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2002
I absolutely loved it and so did everyone else (10 people to be exact!) Okay so I fixed it up a little. I did not use the lemon juice instead I put in more vanilla extract, I used 4 eggs instead of 7 and cinnamon grahams instead of plain. Served with fresh strawberries on top. This recipe was the best. I was totally in! I have never tasted such a great cheesecake in my life! It is fluffy and light and tastes unbelievable. Need I say more. Don't look any farther this is the recipe for you. p.s. you should divide the recipe into 2 cakes as it is too large for one pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I'm giving this recipe four stars, because it's good. The directions were off a lot. First, there is way, way, way too much for a 9 inch pan. I used a 11 inch pan, and it filled it perfectly. The baking time was much too low, and it took a good 4 hours until the middle stopped wobbling, and it was the right temperature inside. I used a waterbath, but that shouldnt affect cooking time THAT much since I had the water hot before I put it into the bath. Overall, it had a good flavor. I added some lemon zest as I wanted it to have a strong lemon flavor, and blended the ingredients together until they were smooth. The cheesecake turned out very nicely after I cooled overnight. Invented a topping for this that came out very nicely. 1 cup sour cream, 4 ounces cream cheese, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 cup of sugar, blended together until smooth. Added to cheesecake after it was completely cooled off, and then let sit in fridge for another 8 hours. Was a great compliment to the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn La

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I decided to try something new from the usual recipe I use. I found this recipe and gave it a try and have to say that it is the BEST CHEESECAKE EVER!! I took other users advice and used a 10 inch pan and it was perfect for the amount. I also cooked it at 325 for about 1 hour and 15 min. It will still be wobbly when you take it out but it firms up with sitting and refridgeration. It came out perfect with no cracks and a really creamy texture. All my ingredients were room temp including the heavy cream and eggs which I think is really important. This is the recipe I will use from now on. It's the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This was, by far the BEST CHEESECAKE I have ever had, nevermind that I have made. Even with the heavy-sounding ingredients, it was so light and fluffy. I used a 10 inch springform and it was coming over the top, (puffed up, didnt spill out) so I think a 9 inch would be way too small. I took it to a clients house for dinner and she had SECONDS. I put braised apricots on top (Cut them in 1/2 and put unsalted butter and brown sugar on top -under the broiler for 5 minutes) and I was the hit of the night!! This will be the recipe I will use FOREVER! I think New Yokr style is a bad adjective though, NY style is much drier, this is quite moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I used this recipe the first time I ever made a cheesecake and it was wonderful. I will use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Made this at Christmas and it was so hectic I didn't get around to reviewing it until now! Terrific cheesecake recipe! My first "real" cheesecake and it came out delicious! I followed directions and it still cracked though. Some people said to try the "pan of water on the oven shelf just under the cheesecake" technique. Doesn't work. Next time I will try the actual "water bath" technique. Wasn't sure then how to do that- everyone assumes you know. For those who don't: Make your cheesecake in a springform pan. Wrap the outside of it in foil(to keep the water out). Get a larger cake pan or shallow casserole dish (don't grease it). Put your wrapped springform pan into it. Carefully pour very warm water into the space between the two pans (a little over halfway). The idea is to have the middle and the outside of the cheesecake the same temp. If the outside is hotter, it will bake faster and shrink. This causes the cracks. I'll let you know if this works in practice as well as it's supposed to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This is one of the best cheesecakes I have ever eaten. It takes a little bit of work, but it is worth it. I ended up with enough mix to make 2 pies, which was great because we got to keep one for ourselves! How greedy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I made this cheesecake this past weekend and it really turned out great. I used the water bath when I baked it. It was smooth and really good tasting, got a lot of comments on it. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This is by FAR one of the best cheescase recipes I've found. And she's not kidding about the longer you leave in the fridge. Overnight is best. YUMMY!!!!! From all who've had it. EXCELLENT cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Best cheesecake ever . amazing try it and you will say the same thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States