Mary's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Very good brownies!!! Good taste, excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I made this for my husband and his friends at work (UT Hospital, Knoxville, TN) Everyone gave these brownies 5+. My husband is a brownie freak and he says these are the best brownies he has ever had, much better than package brownies at Walmart..Thanks Mary!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robbinsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I was going to give this recipe two stars, as I was very dissatisfied with it, but finally after it cooled I decided that it tasted good. I left out the nuts because nobody I know likes nuts. Unless you want the inside of your brownies to be undercooked and gewey, I suggest using a larger pan, because I had to cook my brownies for twice as long as it said to, even though I halved the recipe, and the outsides were getting to be too done but it was apparent that the middle was never going to get cooked. But the end result was very fudgey so if you're into that then by all means have batter-filled brownies when you're done. Also, I found them difficult to cut because the top would just crack off and leave the brownie itself. It also kind of tasted weird; a lot like fudge. Definately not cakey. But overall it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This was way too much batter for 2 pans, so I used three. Not yummy and sweet enough for me, but my husband eats them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
The max time of baking is 38 minutes, when I checked my brownies they were way underbaked. I then turned my oven up to 350 and baked for about 10 minutes more. I will never use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
TEXTURE IS GREAT! This is the texture I've been searching for in my brownies all along. I'm giving this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 only because I thought it could have been just a little bit more chocolatey, but I am a chocoholic. I think next time I will use bittersweet chocolate instead of unsweetened and decrease the sugar by half and see how that works. I took these to work and everyone LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
very good brownies,i will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by picky eater

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very good. I purposely underbaked them a bit and then chilled the pan before I cut them so they would be a little more fudgy and they worked out nicely.Thanks for sharing! Reviewed On First Faceless Frenzy Western Allstars 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
The amount of chocolate is far to low. My brownies ended up a tan color. This recipe also makes alot. Def suggest halving the recipe and doubling the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States