Maryland Crab Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pladiluv
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
They taste very good but the first batch scrambled the second stayed together. Maybe I need some ingredient to keep it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times. I am not from Maryland, but I do like crab cakes. The last couple times I have roasted a couple jalapeños and chopped them up. This adds a little kick. But these are really good with or without the jalapeños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atwood, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was so easy to make and was delicious. I didn't have saltines so I used the generic equivalent of Carrs water crackers. Broiling them made them nice and crispy on the outside, and they held together nicely. I made them a bit smaller and thicker so I yielded 10 cakes. This will definitely be a regular meal at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I made them tonight and my husband was really impressed bc this was my first time making crab cakes. I followed the reviews and did 1/2 cup mayo and 1 egg instead of 1 cup mayo. I also refrigerated the mixture for about 1//2 hour before making the crab cakes and they were super easy to mold and shape without falling apart. Next time I'm going to try and make them a little bigger, but this is a great and simple crab cake. We live in MD so we get a lot of good crab cakes at restaurants and both agreed that these were better then most restaurants serve! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Did add an egg due to clump falling apart also instead of saltines I used Ritz garlic crackers. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
First time making crab cakes. Everyone loved them. I used the club crackers and canned crab and should have added some bread crumbs to firm them up. You learn from trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
As someone who's lived (and eaten crab cakes) in Maryland most of my life, I can assure you that this crab cake recipe is the real deal. I've used this recipe about 5 times and have found that the cakes seem to stay together a little better if you dice the celery into small pieces rather than chop them. I also kick up the Old Bay by 1/2 teaspoon because Maryland is all about Old Bay seasoning. Use fresh back fin crab meat from Maryland, Virginia, or Delaware if it's available in your area. Serve with saltine crackers and cole slaw and a cold glass of beer. Thanks for posting this Maryland tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by late4supper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I prefer to use oyster crackers or stale bread instead of saltines. I use less mayo (as I am allergic to egg) and the smallest possible amount of oil to keep these together. I find backfin meat to be the best crab cake meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I made these for my husband tonight and he loved them. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because I changed the recipe a bit. I used just regular prepared mustard instead of the brown mustard, I also did not have the celery so I didn't put that in. For the seasonings I substituted red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, paprika and hot mustard powder and some garlic salt in place of the old bay seasoning, I also added an egg to help it stick. Finally I used imitation crab meat instead of regular crab simply because I didn't have any regular crab, and I fried them instead of broiling. I must admit that the spices added a little bit of a kick but not so much to make it too hot to handle and my husband and I like spicy foods however the kick was mostly in the after taste. We dipped them in ranch dressing. Needless to say they were a hit, I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States