Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I'm sorry, I didn't like this at all. It was way too salty for my taste, and I didn't add any salt. It may be because I used canned crab but I did rinse it before using it. I've never had crabcakes before so I didn't know what to expect. However crab is my most favorite food in the world, so if I can try it again with some help from other cooks, I'm willing to have a go at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These were delicious and really easy! I added 1 Tbsp of Old Bay and left out the salt and pepper like others suggested. Better than what I've had in restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Fabulous! Added some Old Bay, used fresh Puget Sound Dungeness, and pan fried in butter, the perfect crab cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This recipe did not work AT ALL with imitation crab meat! I ended up throwing the entire mixture in the trash. Hope to help someone else avoid the same mistake as a few reviewers said imitation was OK. Wrong. Don't even try it without fresh (or canned).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSA650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
quite nice and easy for crab cakes...must use quality crab meat to start with and like the others i added old bay 1-2 Tbsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I found this recipe Not so great. First use only fresh lump blue crab, not canned. And do NOT shred it. Gently check for cartlidge. Add an egg to help bind the ingredients. And how can you post a recipe pretending to be a Maryland crab cake without Old Bay seasoning. (That is unforgivable.)add 1Tablespoon (give or take depending upon your tast). A dash of Worchestershire sauce is also an optional addition. Gently fold all ingredients to gether and then form them into 4 cakes and regdgerate for 30+ minutes before attemping to fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I made this tonight and they turned out GREAT!!! They tasted like they came straight from the restaurant. I took the advice of others and add Old Bay but no salt or pepper. I used dried parsley since I didn't have any fresh parsley. I'm sure the fresh parsley would have made them even better. I love the fact that they are baked instead of fried, so much healthier. We made sandwiches out of them, like we have eaten them at some restaurants. I can't say enough, these were GREAT (again)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANE116

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
1st time making crab cakes and it was a great experience. This turned out really well... This is an easy, tasty recipe. A total of 30-minutes from beginning to end..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I found it dry. I guess I prefer low country style crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEllison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe made the first crab cake I have ever had, and it was delicous! I used fresh crab meat and mixed it into the other ingredients GENTLY to keep the cakes lumpy. I panfried them in butter and served them on split warm rolls for sandwiches. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States