Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
These were very bland and I was very glad that I fried a little 'taster patty’ before I formed them all and broiled them. My additions, such as green onion, minced garlic, Blackening seasoning, etc., probably kept this from being a true Maryland crab cake but if so, I am not so keen on authentic Maryland crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was a very good crab cake...not much filler and mostly crab...just how we like it!! I followed the tips of others and used old bay and omitted the hot sauce. My husband who is from Maryland kept saying, "MMMM....no more Red Lobster"!!! Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Wonderful...even without Old Bay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!! THESE ARE THE BESTTTTTT EVER. OK, MY HUSBAND IS FROM DC AND HE WILL ONLY EAT MARYLAND CRAB CAKES. I BEGGED HIM TO TRY THESE AND HE SWORE THEY WERE THE BEST COMPARISON. HE WOULD SELL THEM AS MARYLAND CRAB CAKES ANYWHERE. LOVEM LOVEM LOVEM. THE BEST... LOVE THE OLD BAY AND IT IS SOO NECESSARRY.. OLD BAY.. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe but I did make some changes. I used yellow mustard and used 3 tablespoons of breadcrumbs. I also added Old Bay seasoning. I followed the advice of others and refrigerated the mixture for an hour or so to firm it up. I cooked it in a pan with butter and oil. Overall I thought it was a good recipe I gave it 4 stars because I made alot of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mamaroneck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Oh my are these delightful! It's my first time making crab cakes and they were easier than I thought they would be. I also liked that I can cook it in my oven instead of a skillet. I followed the recipe as it was except for the ground mustard, didn't have any so I used regular yellow mustard, still good though. Also, my patties didn't turn out as nice as the pictures on here, but they still stuck together and tasted delicious. I made the Cilantro-Lime Mayonnaise sauce also from this site to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very average recipe....sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great crab cakes. I (like others) replaced the hot sauce w/Old Bay cause I can't imagine any type of seafood w/o at least a little Old Bay on it ;). I also cut the calories by cutting out the egg yolk and using lo-cal mayo. Broiling with a little shot of Pam was a super idea. They had a nice crunchy outer crust and were cooked perfectly on the inside. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Good and simple!! I had nothing but crab meat in the house and went searching for anything really. I came across this bec I had everything. It turned out pretty good. Only thing is I had to use alot more breadcrumbs or there would be no way it would have stayed together. I'd make again but probally would add more seasoning and erbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was the first crab cake I have made or eaten. The four stars come from the fact that I just don't enjoy crab that much. I must be crazy. The recipe was simple. I used fresh crab and tried broiling as well as on the stove. The broiling method worked better for me. The cakes stayed together, were crunchy on the top and juicy in the middle. I will make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States