Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
i added green onion and red pepper for some more taste and i loaded it into portabella caps and baked in the oven....yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcgirl02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood Crest, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These were really good. I served at a small dinner for guests and they all loved them. I served with crab cake sauce from this site and it was delish! I was making bacon wrapped asparagus and just baked them while that was in the oven too and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I tried these out on my family and one person really loved them, but I felt they were lacking. I believe I will be adding some butter, old bay seasoning, and maybe some shrimp to these the next time I make them. They were a little dry, so I will probably fry them in a buttered pan as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiokaFroka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this recipe for my very first time making crab cakes. I used 1 lb lump crab from our local seafood market. These turned out amazing. I did add the old bay seasoning (about 1 teaspoon) and seared them in a big electric skillet and it ended up making 8 medium ones. I would recommend this 100%, just make sure your crab and parsley are fresh...it does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is very good recipe. I loved broiling over pan frying and the fact that it does not have Old Bay. My favorite crab cakes include scallions and lemon but these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
NEVER NEVER SHRED THE CRABMEAT AND ADD A TABLESPOON OF WORCHESTERSHIRE SAUCE. NO HOT SAUCE, OLD BAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was my first time making crab cakes and this recipe made them wonderful. I too went with larger chunks of crab in the cake (preference): the filler amount for this recipe assumes shredded crab, so my chunky mix needed some time in the fridge to firm up and not crumble. In the future I might shred ~1/3 of the crab and leave the rest in chunks, just to make a nice cohesive cake. I also have an irrational fear of broiling so I just baked at 450 for about 15 minutes: I found this to dry the cakes out. I know broiling would make a nice crispy top with moist insides; I'll just suck it up and make as directed in the future. As with any recipe I seasoned these to our liking, using the written instructions as a guide. This includes Old Bay, but I agree with a previous review that it's not a requirement for a perfect crab cake. This is now my crab cake recipe, thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These were wonderful. I substituted the hot pepper sauce for Old Bay, as others recommended. I also did not shred the crab meat and was careful not to overmix the mixture, as others warned against. They were delicious...thank you Bea!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Substituted hot sauce with old bay seasoning and sprinkled a little more old bay on the top of each one before baking. Excellent recipe! I will be sure to use this one on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
First time I ever made crab cakes. That being said, I grew up in the DC, MD, VA area, and still live here. I tweaked the recipe a bit, and it turned out okay, however, I have a couple of more tweaks for it to make it even better. What I did today. No salt, added Cayenne pepper, just a couple of shakes, added Worchestershire Sauce, ignore the hot sauce, use Old Bay instead. Instead of dry mustard, I used prepared Dijon coarse mustard. To form the cakes, use a 1/4 cup measuring cup. It makes the perfect size crab cake...Next time, I will add some lemon zest and a little more cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States