Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I used this recipe to make crab cakes for the first time ever and they got rave reviews! This had the least amount of bread crumbs and other fillers, and I loved the fact they were broiled and not fried. Thank you for something so simple, yet so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamerica
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
yuuuuuuuuum! easy to make; just follow recipes. eat with tartar sauce! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamerica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
We even used imitation crab and this recipe still worked out so well! Pretty easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
i rated these 4 stars because i know i made the mistakes in this one. and i know you guys are going to call me a stupid head. i did not have fresh crab meat. i used canned(because it's what i had). i added old bay seasonings along with the salt and it was way to salty. so omit the salt if using old bay seasonings. other than that, i know if i would have used fresh lump crab meat it would have been great. but it tasted like a salty old salmon patty. had to make a cucumber raita sauce to cool down the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I know this might not be "Maryland like", but so far I've actually preferred this recipe without the Old Bay seasoning because most of the crab cakes I've tried have had too much Old Bay. I did leave out the salt, and added some onion and celery. Broiling (as opposed to frying) also helped keep the calorie count down, and I used olive oil cooking spray and egg substitute to bring it down even further. I also top each one with a sprinkling of panko breadcrumbs, which gives them a little crunch. I loved these, thanks for the great recipe! I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Absolutely the best crab cake recipe. I substituted Old Bay seasoning for the hot sauce. This recipe really let the crab flavor come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Being from Baltimore, I don't know how anyone can call these Maryland crab cakes without adding Old Bay seafood seasoning. The recipe is actually very good, but not by Maryland's standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Versailles, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was very good with fresh caught blue crabs Old Bay mixed with Cheddar Gold Fish crackers and corn flakes ground up; then used a bit of mustard- and split mayo/cream cheese topped it w/Cajun Spice. Broiled for about 10 minutes. Can't wait to check the traps in the morning. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Really easy to make and good consistency! I made these with real crab and they tasted pretty good! I will probably tinker with this recipe, maybe adding chopped peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe was very helpful as this was my first time making crabcakes. It was easy to follow. I added some more bread crumbs because the mixture seemed to be a little too moist. They were wonderful. I think I'd prefer to have them pan fried, but this is an excellent choice for a more healthy option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States