Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This recipe will definately be a keeper. I made a big mistake - I used canned crabmeat and forgot to rinse it first - my crabcakes were salty! I will definately make it again and I know it will be great. My patties stayed together fine. I used a cast-iron pan and I believe that really makes a difference - it browned the crabcakes quickly and made an excellent crust - turning them over was no problem. Don't try turning the cakes over until you have a good crust and don't forget to rinse your canned crabmeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
424 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Best crab cakes I've made and I've tried alot of recipes. To keep them from falling apart I shape the mixture into balls for the first side and the after I turn them I flatten into patties. This hint came from a previous recipe and it really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
We made these a few times and followed the recipe exactly. They turned out great. I chose this recipe because it called for bread instead of bread crumbs. I wanted to modify the recipe to cut down on the number of crab cakes and added some celery and onion. We liked the crunch of the celery. Here's my changes. Drain well: 1 can lump crabmeat (Lump crabmeat is the best in the can because it has the biggest pieces) – put in a strainer – press down and let sit for ½ hour to drain. Mix: 1 egg, beaten, 2 tablespoons mayonnaise, 3/4 teaspoon Dijon-style prepared mustard, Couple dashes Worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp Old Bay Seasoning, 1 T finely minced onoin, small stick celery finely minced, 2 slices white bread, cut into small pieces. Add crabmeat – gently mix. Lightly bread the patties with cracker meal. Fry them in olive oil until brown. We liked them fried in olive oil for that fried taste. We fried our first batch in butter and they just didn't taste as good to us - they didn't come out nice and crunchy like we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I am from Maryland so a few hinters. Never ever flatten your crab cakes like the picture! A Mayland crabcake should be the size of your fist and fluffy. Fold in gently (to prevent shredding) of Fresh Lump Maryland Blue Crabs. A true Maryland Crabcake is 80% broiled, not fried...so broil till golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This recipe is very good but a bit too salty with the tablespoon of Old Bay it calls for. The second time I made it, I used just half a tablespoon of Old Bay and substituted a tablespoon of very finely chopped celery, plus a pinch each of parseley flakes, black pepper, cayenne pepper, paprika and allspice for the other half. Also, if you have trouble with these staying together, don't add extra egg, just make sure you pack your crab cakes as compactly as you can. Then, after they've been cooking for a couple of minutes, press down on the tops of the cakes with a big spatula, and whatever you do, don't try to flip or move them until they're sufficiently cooked on one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I'm from Maryland and this recipe is to die for! I made mini crab cakes as an appetizer and my friends raved over them. I added another egg and it did stay together very well. I also used crabs that I caught the day before (15 small).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I added a tad less of the old bay and dijon mustard--little less salty tasting. Also, sprayed a cookie sheet and tops of cakes with pam and baked on 375--came out just as crispy and tasty as frying in butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
i have read other reviews and i understand that apparently, crab cakes from maryland are supposed to fall apart. i'm from texas, where we think of a crab cake as sticking together. so, if you're looking for a "traditional" maryland crab cake, this may be it. if you want something that makes an actual "cake", this isn't it. i added probably 1 cup of bread crumbs to keep the crab mix together; even then i had to smush the "cakes" like i was trying to make diamonds from coal a la superman. as per other suggestions, i added less old bay, and thank goodness. the flavor was okay but not amazing. sorry, but i'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I've never even attempted to make crabcakes, I was shocked at how easy these were to make. I substituted bread crumbs for the white bread, and doubled the amount of egg...seems to make it stick together easier. Absolutely delicious and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Mine fell apart too...think next time I'll use cracker crumbs and add another egg. I'll likely also add some green onion to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States