Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I just made this with fresh Oregon crab. Didn't have the Bay seasoning, added a little green onion and fresh parsley; used organic whole wheat bread; sauteed it in olive oil rather than butter for health reasons. Flavor was exquisite. Best since I was in Maryland some years back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
The Best Crab Cakes we've ever had. The crab dominates which is a TRUE CRAB CAKE! you could cut back on the old bay a bit but I think the key to this recipe is to cook on VERY LOW HEAT. It does stick together you just have to be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I made this as an appetizer for a large party, doubling the recipe. I added my own variation: after preparing exactly as described, I lightly coated the crab cakes in bread crumbs and then fried them until brown. I didn't feel they were cooked through and through, so I baked them for about 15 minutes on 350. They were perfect! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I thought that this recipe was too salty and the crab cakes completely fell apart in the pan. However, my husband thought that it tasted great but I am the cook and I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Best crab cakes I have ever made. And I have made hundreds. Used green onions and left out the other onions. Great done in the broiler and not fried. And no eggs, a plus. This will be the recipe I'll we will be using now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Randall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I couldn't get these to stay together..so ended up eating them on toast. Wasn't a bad taste..but was really looking to have the cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This recipe was very disappointing. Not only was the Old Bay Seasoning too powerful, but the cakes would not stay together! I have been looking for a yummy crab cake recipe and this one is definitely not it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Don't get all the rave reviews----? Fell apart terribly, added more mayonnaise and bread, still fell apart when trying to flip in the pan, Old Bay was overpowering! Major flop at my cookout:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Really enjoyed this with rice although I couldn't get the crab and mixture to really stick together. I had more of a scrambled crab over rice. It was good though. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This recipe is very good but a bit too salty with the tablespoon of Old Bay it calls for. The second time I made it, I used just half a tablespoon of Old Bay and substituted a tablespoon of very finely chopped celery, plus a pinch each of parseley flakes, black pepper, cayenne pepper, paprika and allspice for the other half. Also, if you have trouble with these staying together, don't add extra egg, just make sure you pack your crab cakes as compactly as you can. Then, after they've been cooking for a couple of minutes, press down on the tops of the cakes with a big spatula, and whatever you do, don't try to flip or move them until they're sufficiently cooked on one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States