Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
These crab cakes are awesome, and are made even better because of they are nicely crispy on both sides. It is a very easy recipe (NO chopping!) and so quick to throw together. Just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
they fell apart and seemed dry. won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Made it as written and it turned out very good. next time I will chill it for an hour so it stays together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Good tasting but would not stay together. All the patties were mushed into like a stir fry by the end of trying to flip them. Tasted good, but I wouldn't make it again if I wanted patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
this is a fantastic recipe. I did cut back on the Old Bay to 1/2 of what it called for. My family just raved about them. Definately a keeper. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Unionville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I made a couple changes: 1. used a hamburger bun instead of bread b/c it's all I had 2. used 1 tsp of old bay instead of 1 T 3. used olive oil rather than butter to fry 4. chilled the patties for 30 minutes before cooking 5. baked in 350 degree oven for 10 minutes after frying for 4 min on each side I didn't have any problems w/ the patties coming apart... I had chilled them based on other reviews, so maybe that was it. My husband said this one was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I added a tad less of the old bay and dijon mustard--little less salty tasting. Also, sprayed a cookie sheet and tops of cakes with pam and baked on 375--came out just as crispy and tasty as frying in butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
The texture this recipe creates is perfect. However, I'm curious whether the Old Bay shouldn't be "1 tsp" as opposed to the "1 tblsp" in the recipe - it overpowers the other ingredients in my opinion. Maybe it's me - less is more and all that. (Even the crabcake recipe on the Old Bay Seasoning can calls for just the teaspoonful per pound of crabmeat.) Any other opinions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delish! Backed off from the Old Bay a bit, but the cakes were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
i have read other reviews and i understand that apparently, crab cakes from maryland are supposed to fall apart. i'm from texas, where we think of a crab cake as sticking together. so, if you're looking for a "traditional" maryland crab cake, this may be it. if you want something that makes an actual "cake", this isn't it. i added probably 1 cup of bread crumbs to keep the crab mix together; even then i had to smush the "cakes" like i was trying to make diamonds from coal a la superman. as per other suggestions, i added less old bay, and thank goodness. the flavor was okay but not amazing. sorry, but i'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States