Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I had a craving for crab cakes last night and boy did these ever do the trick! I used Old Bay Seasoned Bread Crumbs instead of bread and a little more worcestershire sauce. Absolutely delicious John and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent!!! My husband made these tonight for dinner and we both had totally clean plates afterwards. Not at all dry and tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
i'm from maryland and this is how crabcakes should be made. i tend to use breadcrumbs and dry mustard though, those are my only differences in the actual recipe. and i prefer my crabcakes broiled/baked instead of fried. and i agree with krazi4, that the key is to use lump crab meat. it's generally more expensive but it's definitely worth it. if you're looking for a good MARYLAND crabcake recipe, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie k.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Born and raised in Maryland I KNOW what a good crab cake should taste like and these are IT! I add a bit more worcestershire sauce and the key is to use LUMP crab meat. I prefer mine fried in butter on the skillet (cause what's crab w/o dipped in melted butter? lol) and they taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
The recipe is excellent - have made it many times. Actually, my husband's friend has actually brought me over the ingredients to make it for him!! 3 changes I make - I toast the bread and crumble before adding, I add garlic salt, usually around 3 TB and I dip cakes in bread crumbs before I cook. It holds them together better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn2631

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Turned out awesome. Borrowed some ideas from other reviews, glad I did. Very flavorful and moist. I'll be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by áßßy nðrmàl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe was the better one out of the other Maryland crab cake recipes. They were simple to make and had a great take. Definately be gentle when flipping these in the pan or they will fall apart. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very good recipe. I had to substitute my own mix of seasonings because I didn't have old bay. I also broiled them in the oven. May try adding a bit more mayo to make the mixture more rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I use this, but use saltene cracker instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This IS a very good crab cake recipe. For those unfamiliar with Old Bay, it IS a key ingredient with eating crabs in Maryland...like corned beef and rye-they go together. And adding it to this recipe is a great idea. If one is able to get fresh crab meat, go for it...much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States