Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I had a craving for crab cakes last night and boy did these ever do the trick! I used Old Bay Seasoned Bread Crumbs instead of bread and a little more worcestershire sauce. Absolutely delicious John and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent!!! My husband made these tonight for dinner and we both had totally clean plates afterwards. Not at all dry and tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
i'm from maryland and this is how crabcakes should be made. i tend to use breadcrumbs and dry mustard though, those are my only differences in the actual recipe. and i prefer my crabcakes broiled/baked instead of fried. and i agree with krazi4, that the key is to use lump crab meat. it's generally more expensive but it's definitely worth it. if you're looking for a good MARYLAND crabcake recipe, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie k.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Born and raised in Maryland I KNOW what a good crab cake should taste like and these are IT! I add a bit more worcestershire sauce and the key is to use LUMP crab meat. I prefer mine fried in butter on the skillet (cause what's crab w/o dipped in melted butter? lol) and they taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
The recipe is excellent - have made it many times. Actually, my husband's friend has actually brought me over the ingredients to make it for him!! 3 changes I make - I toast the bread and crumble before adding, I add garlic salt, usually around 3 TB and I dip cakes in bread crumbs before I cook. It holds them together better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn2631

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Turned out awesome. Borrowed some ideas from other reviews, glad I did. Very flavorful and moist. I'll be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by áßßy nðrmàl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe was the better one out of the other Maryland crab cake recipes. They were simple to make and had a great take. Definately be gentle when flipping these in the pan or they will fall apart. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very good recipe. I had to substitute my own mix of seasonings because I didn't have old bay. I also broiled them in the oven. May try adding a bit more mayo to make the mixture more rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I use this, but use saltene cracker instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This IS a very good crab cake recipe. For those unfamiliar with Old Bay, it IS a key ingredient with eating crabs in Maryland...like corned beef and rye-they go together. And adding it to this recipe is a great idea. If one is able to get fresh crab meat, go for it...much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States