Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I made this as a surprise for my husband's birthday tonight. This was the wetest mess. I used fresh lump crab and followed the recipe exactly. They fell apart in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Very Good! I used 1/2# crab, reduced the Old Bay and Wor. sauce to 1/2tsp. and kept the other amounts the same. I also shaped into balls as another reviewer suggested and fried in EVOO. I rated as 4 stars since mine were very mushy inside. They didn't hold together at all when I used less bread. Also, same problem when I used imitation crabmeat another time. Looking at the photo, I do notice that the picture shows them much flatter than I made. I do wonder if the white bread turned to mush once it hit was mixed in?? My husband and I liked them, but I probably won't make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is a terrific recipe! The 1 T. of Old Bay was just right for a little zing when combined with the Dijon mustard. Didn't quite taste like it had enough salt but will probably make it the same the next time because it grew on me as I ate it. Husband loved it!! I did add parsley to mine. I did have to cook mine a little longer to get a nice crust but it was still nice and moist inside. Keep those lumps! That's what makes crab cakes taste so good. Thanks John L., this recipe is a keeper for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
These crabcakes turned out delicious!! Will definitely make them again. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I just looked into this site and I see that these recipe comments were made quite some time ago. In answer to METAPEDE the one who said don’t add an extra egg because they felt it would stop it from falling apart. That is wrong! The eggs are a binder and breading and cracker crumbs are an extenders, which help make more but take away from the true flavor and cheapen the value. Remember the more inert ingredients you put in the less crab flavor will be there. However, if you want to accent it with your personal touch like a little( I mean little)wine, chives onion, or celery go a head but keep in mind that the more you put in the further you get away from that good old Chesapeake Maryland flavor crab cakes. The think this recipe stands well all by itself! Sincerely, the Flying Cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This recipe is great! It was so easy and turned out great. I usually don't care for crab cakes, but these are amazing! The Old Bay gave it a strong taste, but I liked them that way. These are by far the best seafood I've tasted in a while. And, yes, I do live in Maryland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Good, not too difficult to put together. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Perfect crab cakes! I used panko breadcrumbs and a little less Old Bay. They are good fried but they are just as good broiled for 10 minutes (brushed the tops w/ a little melted butter first).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
OMG, very good and easy, only thing I did different, I spray cooking sheet with olive oil cooking spray, then brush olive oil on top of crab cakes,so they wouldn't be dry, bake in oven on 475, it was a hit everyone at work think I can really cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
What type of mustard (Dijon or regular) and the amount of Old Bay is up to the cook. However, for true Maryland crab cakes don't add more ingredients than what this recipe calls for (some do substitute crushed saltines for the bread). No onion, no peppers, no celery, etc. You can call them crab cakes, but not true Maryland crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States