Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
My husband LOVED these (once he dipped them in butter.) Says they were the best crab cakes he has ever eaten. Unfortunately, they fell apart, even after an extra egg. (That is why the 4.) If it wasn't for that, they would have been a 5. Also, I cut the Old Bay in half so it did not over power the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I used imitation crab meat, but the big chunks of it fell apart even when more bread was added. After a couple attempts became a loose mess of imitation crab meat, I tossed the mixture into the food processor for a few pulses. When it was chopped into finer pieces, it formed into nice little cakes that cooked intact. They all tasted great, but the minced ones looked like real crabcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This recipe will definately be a keeper. I made a big mistake - I used canned crabmeat and forgot to rinse it first - my crabcakes were salty! I will definately make it again and I know it will be great. My patties stayed together fine. I used a cast-iron pan and I believe that really makes a difference - it browned the crabcakes quickly and made an excellent crust - turning them over was no problem. Don't try turning the cakes over until you have a good crust and don't forget to rinse your canned crabmeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Fantastic recipe. This was my first time making crab cakes and it was so easy. My husband begged for these on his birthday. I would suggest a little less Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I did not like the flavor of this at all. I put the crab mixture in the refrigerator for an hour and the crab cakes still fell apart. My partner loved it, but I was not pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I orgininally made them exactly as stated in the recipe, but they wouldn't hold together at all. I added another piece of bread and another egg and it held together a little better, though some did break up during cooking. Next time I'll add more Old Bay Seasoning since the extra egg and bread made them a little bland, but I will try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
My husband devoured the crabcakes, I thought they were alright, but am not much of a fan. Thank you John for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
The ingredients for this recipe sounded perfect. I read the reviews and felt it would be a great one. However, the crab cakes did not stay together when I put them in the pan. I removed them, added another egg, more bread crumbs before trying to cook them again. Even with the added add and bread, the Old Bay seasoning (which I love, usually) overpowered the crab cakes. I won't make these again!What were others thinking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Really good. Not having ever made crab cakes, I was very skeptical, but they turned out good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This recipe was great and so incredibly easy I will make this again and again. My husband was super impressed. I made a remoulade sauce which went really well with these crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States