Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
this is a fantastic recipe. I did cut back on the Old Bay to 1/2 of what it called for. My family just raved about them. Definately a keeper. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Unionville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I made a couple changes: 1. used a hamburger bun instead of bread b/c it's all I had 2. used 1 tsp of old bay instead of 1 T 3. used olive oil rather than butter to fry 4. chilled the patties for 30 minutes before cooking 5. baked in 350 degree oven for 10 minutes after frying for 4 min on each side I didn't have any problems w/ the patties coming apart... I had chilled them based on other reviews, so maybe that was it. My husband said this one was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I added a tad less of the old bay and dijon mustard--little less salty tasting. Also, sprayed a cookie sheet and tops of cakes with pam and baked on 375--came out just as crispy and tasty as frying in butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
The texture this recipe creates is perfect. However, I'm curious whether the Old Bay shouldn't be "1 tsp" as opposed to the "1 tblsp" in the recipe - it overpowers the other ingredients in my opinion. Maybe it's me - less is more and all that. (Even the crabcake recipe on the Old Bay Seasoning can calls for just the teaspoonful per pound of crabmeat.) Any other opinions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delish! Backed off from the Old Bay a bit, but the cakes were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
i have read other reviews and i understand that apparently, crab cakes from maryland are supposed to fall apart. i'm from texas, where we think of a crab cake as sticking together. so, if you're looking for a "traditional" maryland crab cake, this may be it. if you want something that makes an actual "cake", this isn't it. i added probably 1 cup of bread crumbs to keep the crab mix together; even then i had to smush the "cakes" like i was trying to make diamonds from coal a la superman. as per other suggestions, i added less old bay, and thank goodness. the flavor was okay but not amazing. sorry, but i'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Tasty, but fell apart. I gave it only 3 stars because presentation counts for something. As tasty as it was, my kids wouldn't touch it because it resembled a crumbly mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I love this recipe, reminds me of home on the Potomac...You have to use OLD BAY seasoning that's what makes the crabcakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptbssg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I love crab cakes, but the old bay seasoning was too much. I did not care for these at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I just made this with fresh Oregon crab. Didn't have the Bay seasoning, added a little green onion and fresh parsley; used organic whole wheat bread; sauteed it in olive oil rather than butter for health reasons. Flavor was exquisite. Best since I was in Maryland some years back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States