Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This IS a very good crab cake recipe. For those unfamiliar with Old Bay, it IS a key ingredient with eating crabs in Maryland...like corned beef and rye-they go together. And adding it to this recipe is a great idea. If one is able to get fresh crab meat, go for it...much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These crab cakes are ABSOLUTELY delicious. The recipe is easy to prepare. My family and friends now consider this "my" specialty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folcroft, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aldan, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I am a native Marylander. Since I haven't tried to make this recipe, I have given it 4 stars. According to the Old Bay Seasoning recipe on side of container, it calls for 2 teaspoons of Old Bay Seasoning, not 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was pretty good! However I divide into 4 cakes. It is imortant to note that fresh lump blue crab is really much better than any canned crab. It also helps to refigerate the cakes for about a half hour before frying. It really helps them hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I am from Maryland so a few hinters. Never ever flatten your crab cakes like the picture! A Mayland crabcake should be the size of your fist and fluffy. Fold in gently (to prevent shredding) of Fresh Lump Maryland Blue Crabs. A true Maryland Crabcake is 80% broiled, not fried...so broil till golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
These crab cakes are awesome, and are made even better because of they are nicely crispy on both sides. It is a very easy recipe (NO chopping!) and so quick to throw together. Just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
they fell apart and seemed dry. won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Made it as written and it turned out very good. next time I will chill it for an hour so it stays together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Good tasting but would not stay together. All the patties were mushed into like a stir fry by the end of trying to flip them. Tasted good, but I wouldn't make it again if I wanted patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
this is a fantastic recipe. I did cut back on the Old Bay to 1/2 of what it called for. My family just raved about them. Definately a keeper. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Unionville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States