Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
The recipe is excellent - have made it many times. Actually, my husband's friend has actually brought me over the ingredients to make it for him!! 3 changes I make - I toast the bread and crumble before adding, I add garlic salt, usually around 3 TB and I dip cakes in bread crumbs before I cook. It holds them together better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn2631

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Turned out awesome. Borrowed some ideas from other reviews, glad I did. Very flavorful and moist. I'll be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by áßßy nðrmàl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe was the better one out of the other Maryland crab cake recipes. They were simple to make and had a great take. Definately be gentle when flipping these in the pan or they will fall apart. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very good recipe. I had to substitute my own mix of seasonings because I didn't have old bay. I also broiled them in the oven. May try adding a bit more mayo to make the mixture more rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I use this, but use saltene cracker instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This IS a very good crab cake recipe. For those unfamiliar with Old Bay, it IS a key ingredient with eating crabs in Maryland...like corned beef and rye-they go together. And adding it to this recipe is a great idea. If one is able to get fresh crab meat, go for it...much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These crab cakes are ABSOLUTELY delicious. The recipe is easy to prepare. My family and friends now consider this "my" specialty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folcroft, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aldan, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I am a native Marylander. Since I haven't tried to make this recipe, I have given it 4 stars. According to the Old Bay Seasoning recipe on side of container, it calls for 2 teaspoons of Old Bay Seasoning, not 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was pretty good! However I divide into 4 cakes. It is imortant to note that fresh lump blue crab is really much better than any canned crab. It also helps to refigerate the cakes for about a half hour before frying. It really helps them hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I am from Maryland so a few hinters. Never ever flatten your crab cakes like the picture! A Mayland crabcake should be the size of your fist and fluffy. Fold in gently (to prevent shredding) of Fresh Lump Maryland Blue Crabs. A true Maryland Crabcake is 80% broiled, not fried...so broil till golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States