Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was excellent. The crab meat I had purchased was Maryland backfin crab meat in a vaccum packed bag. I had to add one additional slice of bread to get my desired consistancy. I used potatoe bread rather than white. It was yummy! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
dont thy to bake these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good! I baked these rather than frying in oil. Delish! I served with chilled yogurt curry sauce. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I used panko flakes instead of white bread and green onion was added as well. This was easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
fried in oil instead of butter, used saltine crackers instead of breadcrumbs good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
As an "old lady from Baltimore" (lived right up the street from Bo Brooks), I liked this version best because of the use of bread and not bread crumbs. I do however, use regular mustard instead of the fancy kind (it's what we used in the old days)! To keep them from falling apart simply make your crabcakes and place them on a cookie sheet in your fridge for an hour or so until they are "set". This always works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crabbyjean
Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I had a craving for crab cakes last night and boy did these ever do the trick! I used Old Bay Seasoned Bread Crumbs instead of bread and a little more worcestershire sauce. Absolutely delicious John and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent!!! My husband made these tonight for dinner and we both had totally clean plates afterwards. Not at all dry and tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
i'm from maryland and this is how crabcakes should be made. i tend to use breadcrumbs and dry mustard though, those are my only differences in the actual recipe. and i prefer my crabcakes broiled/baked instead of fried. and i agree with krazi4, that the key is to use lump crab meat. it's generally more expensive but it's definitely worth it. if you're looking for a good MARYLAND crabcake recipe, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie k.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Born and raised in Maryland I KNOW what a good crab cake should taste like and these are IT! I add a bit more worcestershire sauce and the key is to use LUMP crab meat. I prefer mine fried in butter on the skillet (cause what's crab w/o dipped in melted butter? lol) and they taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States