Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I have NEVER made crab cakes before, wasn't so keen on them, but WOW!! Delicious! I used 227gm of immitation crab (should have used more), used 2 eggs, and 1 extra piece of bread. WOW! Flaky, tasty.. I didn't have the Seasoning requested, so I used Cayenne, Paprika and Garlic Powder, Pepper and Salt. And for an AWESOME side dip, A few pieces of jarred roasted red peppers, a half cup to a cup of mayonaise, and a few teaspoons to tablespoons of chili sauce *depends how hot you like it* WHAT AN EXCELLENT DISH!!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Grew up and Maryland and this is a great recipe! I used lump crabmeat - even better. I also used cooking spray to cut the fat down to almost nothing. I would suggest adding the crackers slowly as you stir - you'll probably not want to use the amount it calls for - makes for too much filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Great recipe! I was out of dijon mustard and Old Bay, so subsituted equal measures of horseradish and cajun seasonings. My husband and I loved them, will definately make again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Excellent! I made these as part of my Italian 7 fish Christmas eve dinner and got raves. Handle with care as they are very delicate. I will NEVER order crab cakes again in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was delicious. I made this for my Italian Christmas Eve Fish dinner and everyone loved them. If I make them again, I may add another egg to make them stick better, but it wasn't a real problem - just had to be very gentle. The taste was amazing. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
We made these a few times and followed the recipe exactly. They turned out great. I chose this recipe because it called for bread instead of bread crumbs. I wanted to modify the recipe to cut down on the number of crab cakes and added some celery and onion. We liked the crunch of the celery. Here's my changes. Drain well: 1 can lump crabmeat (Lump crabmeat is the best in the can because it has the biggest pieces) – put in a strainer – press down and let sit for ½ hour to drain. Mix: 1 egg, beaten, 2 tablespoons mayonnaise, 3/4 teaspoon Dijon-style prepared mustard, Couple dashes Worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp Old Bay Seasoning, 1 T finely minced onoin, small stick celery finely minced, 2 slices white bread, cut into small pieces. Add crabmeat – gently mix. Lightly bread the patties with cracker meal. Fry them in olive oil until brown. We liked them fried in olive oil for that fried taste. We fried our first batch in butter and they just didn't taste as good to us - they didn't come out nice and crunchy like we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Absolutely slammin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
They didn't look very pretty (I think that had more to do with me as the cook versus the recipe) - but they were very good. I added some corn to the mix and then used it as a main dish for my 6 year old and I. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Mine fell apart too...think next time I'll use cracker crumbs and add another egg. I'll likely also add some green onion to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States