Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Exactly right. These are true Maryland crab cakes. For the right texture, be sure to use back fin lump crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naptown711
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I did this but I changed cracker crumbs instead of bread. Turned out great. Mix the wet ingredients first for better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ryan Bessling
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
These Maryland Crab Cakes turned out great! Next time I will just use a teaspoon of Old Bay. They were a little bit to spicy for my children. This is the best Maryland Crab Cake recipe I have made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Bessling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Just finished making this recipe. Was my first time making crab cakes. Really easy and very good! I added fresh onions. I also used crackers instead of bread crumbs. But still turned out really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Extremely salty!!! I'll pass on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Best yet!!! When I pay so much for canned crab, I have to insist that the recipe I follow is superb, and this jewel of a recipe is! Thanks John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I lived in Baltimore for 10 years and since moving to Virginia, have attempted to find a genuine Maryland Crabcake recipe. THIS IS IT! Perfect! Just like you find in the crab shacks. THANK YOU! Flattening is optional...I flattened it so I could get the crispy brown sides. I have broiled crabcakes and they turn out very dry. Also...never use canned crab meat. It doesn't taste anything like fresh crab. If you live near the shore, buy a bushel of fresh or pre steamed crabs and pick any crabs that are leftover from your crab feast...If you don't live near the shore, buy a tub of fresh crabmeat in the meat section of a grocery store. I have made crab cakes that fall apart....but never when I lived in Baltimore so they should hold together...that's want the egg is for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
The only things I did different was I added more Old Bay b/c I like lots of it!!! I also used bread crumbs in place of the bread. I love seafood and this is a GREAT crab cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
An excellent recipe (although I pan fried them, then finished them in the oven, which is the "Maryland Way;" I'm a chef and native of MD's Eastern Shore). I see the criticisms, and you're right: they can be crumbly...the trick is getting them just right. "Authentic" Maryland crab cake recipes can vary quite a bit; a Maryland crab cake is really less of an ingredients list than a philosophy: plenty of Jumbo Lump crabmeat, with just enough filler to bind it together. Thus, the "perfect" Maryland crab cake is the one that, if you were to add any less filler, would fall apart. Personally, instead of the bread, I prefer cracker meal, but you will find a different blend of filler in virtually every chef's kitchen...The crabs are the important part, and although I'll always be partial to Maryland blue crab, I must say that the blue crabs they harvest on the Albemarle Sound in North Carolina are (almost) just as good...but don't tell my folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States