Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Grew up and Maryland and this is a great recipe! I used lump crabmeat - even better. I also used cooking spray to cut the fat down to almost nothing. I would suggest adding the crackers slowly as you stir - you'll probably not want to use the amount it calls for - makes for too much filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Great recipe! I was out of dijon mustard and Old Bay, so subsituted equal measures of horseradish and cajun seasonings. My husband and I loved them, will definately make again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Excellent! I made these as part of my Italian 7 fish Christmas eve dinner and got raves. Handle with care as they are very delicate. I will NEVER order crab cakes again in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was delicious. I made this for my Italian Christmas Eve Fish dinner and everyone loved them. If I make them again, I may add another egg to make them stick better, but it wasn't a real problem - just had to be very gentle. The taste was amazing. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
We made these a few times and followed the recipe exactly. They turned out great. I chose this recipe because it called for bread instead of bread crumbs. I wanted to modify the recipe to cut down on the number of crab cakes and added some celery and onion. We liked the crunch of the celery. Here's my changes. Drain well: 1 can lump crabmeat (Lump crabmeat is the best in the can because it has the biggest pieces) – put in a strainer – press down and let sit for ½ hour to drain. Mix: 1 egg, beaten, 2 tablespoons mayonnaise, 3/4 teaspoon Dijon-style prepared mustard, Couple dashes Worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp Old Bay Seasoning, 1 T finely minced onoin, small stick celery finely minced, 2 slices white bread, cut into small pieces. Add crabmeat – gently mix. Lightly bread the patties with cracker meal. Fry them in olive oil until brown. We liked them fried in olive oil for that fried taste. We fried our first batch in butter and they just didn't taste as good to us - they didn't come out nice and crunchy like we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Absolutely slammin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
They didn't look very pretty (I think that had more to do with me as the cook versus the recipe) - but they were very good. I added some corn to the mix and then used it as a main dish for my 6 year old and I. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Mine fell apart too...think next time I'll use cracker crumbs and add another egg. I'll likely also add some green onion to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I only discovered this website a few weeks ago and I have made this recipe twice (And will be making it again this week too). I confess that I use imitation crabmeat. I also add a minced green onion. I serve it with adipping sauce of mayo, orange marmalade and curry. Even my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States