Maryland Crab Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This recipe will definately be a keeper. I made a big mistake - I used canned crabmeat and forgot to rinse it first - my crabcakes were salty! I will definately make it again and I know it will be great. My patties stayed together fine. I used a cast-iron pan and I believe that really makes a difference - it browned the crabcakes quickly and made an excellent crust - turning them over was no problem. Don't try turning the cakes over until you have a good crust and don't forget to rinse your canned crabmeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Fantastic recipe. This was my first time making crab cakes and it was so easy. My husband begged for these on his birthday. I would suggest a little less Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I did not like the flavor of this at all. I put the crab mixture in the refrigerator for an hour and the crab cakes still fell apart. My partner loved it, but I was not pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I orgininally made them exactly as stated in the recipe, but they wouldn't hold together at all. I added another piece of bread and another egg and it held together a little better, though some did break up during cooking. Next time I'll add more Old Bay Seasoning since the extra egg and bread made them a little bland, but I will try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
My husband devoured the crabcakes, I thought they were alright, but am not much of a fan. Thank you John for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
The ingredients for this recipe sounded perfect. I read the reviews and felt it would be a great one. However, the crab cakes did not stay together when I put them in the pan. I removed them, added another egg, more bread crumbs before trying to cook them again. Even with the added add and bread, the Old Bay seasoning (which I love, usually) overpowered the crab cakes. I won't make these again!What were others thinking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Really good. Not having ever made crab cakes, I was very skeptical, but they turned out good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This recipe was great and so incredibly easy I will make this again and again. My husband was super impressed. I made a remoulade sauce which went really well with these crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
These are wonderful! I was looking for an authentic, simple recipe that would highlight the flavor of a beautiful fresh Dungeness crab and I found it! I used egg substitute and and light whole wheat bread and seasoned salt instead of Old Bay (that's what I had on hand). Also just used a pan spray and a dab of light butter to cook them to reduce the fat. They are still some of the best I ever had. Thank you, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENCELIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hayfork, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I have NEVER made crab cakes before, wasn't so keen on them, but WOW!! Delicious! I used 227gm of immitation crab (should have used more), used 2 eggs, and 1 extra piece of bread. WOW! Flaky, tasty.. I didn't have the Seasoning requested, so I used Cayenne, Paprika and Garlic Powder, Pepper and Salt. And for an AWESOME side dip, A few pieces of jarred roasted red peppers, a half cup to a cup of mayonaise, and a few teaspoons to tablespoons of chili sauce *depends how hot you like it* WHAT AN EXCELLENT DISH!!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States