Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My husband said this was the best rhubarb dessert that he ever had. I used 4 cups of rhubarb and only 1 cup of sugar and then added a sprinkling of cinnamon. 2nd time I made it I didn't have heavy cream so I used about 3/4 cup of half and half and it turned out great. Soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
OK, My mom makes this with exception to a couple things. She uses 4 CUPS RHUBARB and only 1 cup sugar and 1 pint whipping cream. Seriously the best rhubarb cake in the whole wild world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! I used 3/4 cup Splenda and 1/2 cup sugar, and a vanilla cake mix instead of white. OMG - it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! I have never baked anything with Rhubarb before, but a friend gave me some fress Rhubarb and I wanted an easy recipe to start with, this one was a winner! The only change I made was to put the rhubarb with the sugar in a ziplock bag first, then prepared the cake mix, this really let the rhubarb mix well. My kids (very picky) LOVED this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Tart, creamy, cakey, yummy!! The best! I used a french vanilla cake mix and it was just dreamy, my family can never wait until anything cools though, so I will have to make it again. I will definately be using this as a rhubarb standby----- oh and sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessann4Jesus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was a super easy recipe and it tasted fantastic. I ended up making two of them in 2 days, one for a BBQ and one for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I took other suggestions and doubles the rhubarb, upped the sugar to 2 cups ( could make this less) and added more cream. I also used lemon cake mix, and upped cook time 15 min. This made it tangy and we thought better than original cake, thanks for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I was not thrilled with this -- I needed something to use up a boxed cake mix that was taking up room in my pantry. And I did have rhubarb in the freezer. The idea is great for the southern menu we had planned -- chili and collard greens (from this site) -- but the taste of a boxed mix still comes through. Next time I will make it from scratch with the rhubarb. Thanks for the idea, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Love this recipe! So many of these cakes are far to sweet and this one is just right! I have used half and half for the whipping cream and it has worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was absolutely delicious. I was worried that it would be too sweet, but it has just enough sugar to sweeten the rhubarb and the cream. I did use about four cups of rhubarb because I got a little carried away when I was cutting it up, but it still turned out great. Thank you for this wonderfully easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States