Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I have made this cake with great raves from friends and family! It's very easy to make and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I have served this cake at many functions, and I have yet to see leftovers! I too cut the sugar and double the amount of rhubarb. I have also used 2 cups rhubarb and 2 cups triple berry blend or variations of other fruits with the rhubarb, and it always goes quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Yummy. So easy and I loved how the rhubarb/custard all fell to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ennis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
per my aunts recipe, I used 5c rhubarb, 1 c sugar, and 1 pint cream... perfect - still very sweet. Excellent w/ cool whip when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My father LOVES rhubarb. THis is one of his favorite cake recipes. Happy Father's Day Dad! I am happy to bake this one up for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCPRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Awesome. Use a butter recipe golden cake mix and about 5 cups of rhubarb, cut sugar to 3/4 c and sprinkled 2T red strawberry jello powder over top of cake when I dumped it all together. Took about 45 min to bake but it was great for a summer picnic! My 5 yr old could make this its so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onsornurse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this with 4 cups of rhubarb, the amount of sugar called for, a lemon cake mix, and messed up and used a full pint of whipping cream. The extra whipping cream made it very "moist" on the bottom. Either the sugar and/or the cake mix made it too sweet. I ended up cutting up raw rhubarb and microwaving it in a bowl and then adding that to each of my servings to get the right tart to sweet taste that I wanted. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This has been a favorite for years. I also up my rhubarb to 4 cups, sugar only 1 cup, and whipping cream 1 1/2 cup (table cream and 1/2 & 1/2 will not set up for a nice custard) Always a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menno, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is just like the cake my aunt would make in the summer when we had family functions! Thank you!!! I knew what the ingredients were, but didn't remember the quantities. I used a Lemon cake mix with some frozen rhubarb and it was delicious!! Next time I will try this with blackberries instead of the rhubarb :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ball

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States