Maryanne's Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is very good, my family loved it. Traditionalists should be aware that it is not your standard "southern" cornbread...it is rich and a little sweet and almost cakelike rather than crumbly. I am sure I will make it again, it was such a hit, it is very moist and a 9X13 pan is a lot of cornbread so it would be great for a crowd. Like another reviewer, I had to bake it another 15-20 minutes longer than called for. 30 minutes does not seem to be long enough for such a big pan and it was wet in the middle at 30 minutes. It was perfect at 50 minutes but I would start watching it at 40 to be on the safe side. I did not have any frozen corn but I had a can of creamed corn and I put that in, it worked great and gave some extra texture without having big kernals of corn. I kept the rest of the recipe exactly as written. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I had good results when I cut the recipe in half, using 2 eggs and 1/2 cup milk. Cut all other ingredients exactly in half. I made corn muffins using paper liners sprayed with cooking spray. Mix the wet ingredients, set aside. Mix the dry ingredients. Make a well, stir in wet ingredients along with corn. Mix only until combined. Over mixing will result in a crumbly muffin. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until muffins are golden. Let cool slightly before peeling off paper liner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is the best cornbread I've ever had. I decreased the milk by 1/4 cup and used creamed corn. It was moist and delicious. My 2 year old grandson and my husband have almost eaten the whole pan. I hope I have enough left for dressing. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The cornbread was moist and delicious. The family went back for seconds. The only thing I found I would do the next time would be to thaw the corn before adding it to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I don't know what happened! Reading the reviews I thought for sure this would be it! What a disappointment. First, I cut back the sugar to 3/4C..I'm glad I did, as it was STILL a bit too sweet for me. Also, it had an overly "butter" flavor. Thats all I could taste, butter & sugar. Second, Mine crumbled away on me! I had a hard time slicing this and keeping it into wedges. It fell apart. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I followed another reviewer's suggestion of halving and making muffins, using 1/2 c milk, 2 eggs, and half of all other ingredients. I also replaced half of the sugar (1/4 c) with 1/4 c honey. Baked at 350 for ~15 mins. Yields 12 muffins when you fill the cups about halfway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. Holy Moly yummy! For leftovers, cut into squares, freeze, and microwave for 30-45 sec per piece. Add more butter of course. Sooooo delicious. The second time, I followed the modified version (1 cup milk + creamed corn)....amazing again. The pieces are tall, thick, moist, cornmeal -buttery goodness. It IS the meal! This cornbread is better than some wedding cakes! Ps.....For the reviewer who said it came out dry and crumbly...you did something wrong. I've made it twice. Easy recipe and perfect texture. I mixed with a handheld electric mixer (no idea if it matters) Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauna85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This is so moist! I followed the suggestion to add creamed corn instead of kernels - which was awesome. It did require another 20 minutes or so to cook through. I love this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe is almost identical to the only cornbread recipe I will use. 4 cups Bisquick, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup cornmeal, 2 teaspoons baking powder (mix together in bowl with spoon). In separate bowl beat together (with whisk) 3 eggs, 1 cube melted margarine & 2 cups of evaporated milk. Add to dry ingredients and mix ONLY UNTIL moistened. Pour into a 9 x 13 baking pan sprayed with cooking spray and bake in 350* preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes. Very close to Marie Callendar's. Enjoy!!!!! NOTE: Use a 12 oz. can of evaporated milk then enough regular milk to equal the 2 cups. No need to open another can. Also, I have never used corn kernels but I don't see why not. Just make sure it is drained well as to not add additional moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Finally, a cornbread that is moist and delicious! I left out the corn, only because I have some picky eaters. This is a keeper without a doubt! Thanks for sharing your grandmother's recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States