Maryanne's Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My husbands comment was that this is the best cornbread he had eaten in years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wallace Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
GREAT! Whole family loved it! Only change I made was to add a small can of Green Chili peppers (to add a little spice). Next time I might cut back on the sugar. This is now a household favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this cornbread as the foundation for my holiday stuffing. I took my husband a taste and he told everyone it was the best cornbread I have ever made. We love cornbread and I've been making him cornbread for 36 years. Thanks for a great recipe. Note...I had to cook this recipe a log longer than the instructions stated...about 15 or 20 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is one of the best cornbread recipes I've found. I stuck to the recipe and it turned out perfectly! I might try reducing the butter next time to make it a little healthier but I know I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is very good, my family loved it. Traditionalists should be aware that it is not your standard "southern" cornbread...it is rich and a little sweet and almost cakelike rather than crumbly. I am sure I will make it again, it was such a hit, it is very moist and a 9X13 pan is a lot of cornbread so it would be great for a crowd. Like another reviewer, I had to bake it another 15-20 minutes longer than called for. 30 minutes does not seem to be long enough for such a big pan and it was wet in the middle at 30 minutes. It was perfect at 50 minutes but I would start watching it at 40 to be on the safe side. I did not have any frozen corn but I had a can of creamed corn and I put that in, it worked great and gave some extra texture without having big kernals of corn. I kept the rest of the recipe exactly as written. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
WOW! This recipe is awesome! Very good. I only have a family of 5 so I cut the ingredients in 1/2 and poured the mix in a bread pan. Came out perfect! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I don't know what happened! Reading the reviews I thought for sure this would be it! What a disappointment. First, I cut back the sugar to 3/4C..I'm glad I did, as it was STILL a bit too sweet for me. Also, it had an overly "butter" flavor. Thats all I could taste, butter & sugar. Second, Mine crumbled away on me! I had a hard time slicing this and keeping it into wedges. It fell apart. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
i have to agree with another review, it takes more then 30 minutes to bake i would say 50mins. but this was such an easy recipe to make, and was very tasty. would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I had good results when I cut the recipe in half, using 2 eggs and 1/2 cup milk. Cut all other ingredients exactly in half. I made corn muffins using paper liners sprayed with cooking spray. Mix the wet ingredients, set aside. Mix the dry ingredients. Make a well, stir in wet ingredients along with corn. Mix only until combined. Over mixing will result in a crumbly muffin. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until muffins are golden. Let cool slightly before peeling off paper liner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The cornbread was moist and delicious. The family went back for seconds. The only thing I found I would do the next time would be to thaw the corn before adding it to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States