Maryanne's Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My husbands comment was that this is the best cornbread he had eaten in years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
GREAT! Whole family loved it! Only change I made was to add a small can of Green Chili peppers (to add a little spice). Next time I might cut back on the sugar. This is now a household favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this cornbread as the foundation for my holiday stuffing. I took my husband a taste and he told everyone it was the best cornbread I have ever made. We love cornbread and I've been making him cornbread for 36 years. Thanks for a great recipe. Note...I had to cook this recipe a log longer than the instructions stated...about 15 or 20 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is one of the best cornbread recipes I've found. I stuck to the recipe and it turned out perfectly! I might try reducing the butter next time to make it a little healthier but I know I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is very good, my family loved it. Traditionalists should be aware that it is not your standard "southern" cornbread...it is rich and a little sweet and almost cakelike rather than crumbly. I am sure I will make it again, it was such a hit, it is very moist and a 9X13 pan is a lot of cornbread so it would be great for a crowd. Like another reviewer, I had to bake it another 15-20 minutes longer than called for. 30 minutes does not seem to be long enough for such a big pan and it was wet in the middle at 30 minutes. It was perfect at 50 minutes but I would start watching it at 40 to be on the safe side. I did not have any frozen corn but I had a can of creamed corn and I put that in, it worked great and gave some extra texture without having big kernals of corn. I kept the rest of the recipe exactly as written. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
WOW! This recipe is awesome! Very good. I only have a family of 5 so I cut the ingredients in 1/2 and poured the mix in a bread pan. Came out perfect! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I don't know what happened! Reading the reviews I thought for sure this would be it! What a disappointment. First, I cut back the sugar to 3/4C..I'm glad I did, as it was STILL a bit too sweet for me. Also, it had an overly "butter" flavor. Thats all I could taste, butter & sugar. Second, Mine crumbled away on me! I had a hard time slicing this and keeping it into wedges. It fell apart. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
i have to agree with another review, it takes more then 30 minutes to bake i would say 50mins. but this was such an easy recipe to make, and was very tasty. would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I had good results when I cut the recipe in half, using 2 eggs and 1/2 cup milk. Cut all other ingredients exactly in half. I made corn muffins using paper liners sprayed with cooking spray. Mix the wet ingredients, set aside. Mix the dry ingredients. Make a well, stir in wet ingredients along with corn. Mix only until combined. Over mixing will result in a crumbly muffin. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until muffins are golden. Let cool slightly before peeling off paper liner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The cornbread was moist and delicious. The family went back for seconds. The only thing I found I would do the next time would be to thaw the corn before adding it to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States