Maryanne's Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. Holy Moly yummy! For leftovers, cut into squares, freeze, and microwave for 30-45 sec per piece. Add more butter of course. Sooooo delicious. The second time, I followed the modified version (1 cup milk + creamed corn)....amazing again. The pieces are tall, thick, moist, cornmeal -buttery goodness. It IS the meal! This cornbread is better than some wedding cakes! Ps.....For the reviewer who said it came out dry and crumbly...you did something wrong. I've made it twice. Easy recipe and perfect texture. I mixed with a handheld electric mixer (no idea if it matters) Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauna85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
It tasted just like regular cornbread...I didn't get the 'cakey' cornbread I was looking for. I was trying to find something similar to MariCallendar's cornbread which is basically just like a cake and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made this for a recent party and as a result we are having it twice in February because of rave reviews. It is terrific and oh so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a hit even my wife's grandmother was going on and on about how moist and sweet it was! Adding the corn to it makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, using Jiffy baking mix. My cornbread turned out delicious--moist and cake-like! It did take 10 minutes longer in the oven than the recipe stated. This is now my go-to cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Delicious and moist! I made it with a fairly spicy chili and I thought the sweetness of the bread was just right with the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This is so moist! I followed the suggestion to add creamed corn instead of kernels - which was awesome. It did require another 20 minutes or so to cook through. I love this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My kids love this cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Great Cornbread, not "cakey" enough for me though. Still it was very much appreciated by the tribe (family).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joylea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I followed another reviewer's suggestion of halving and making muffins, using 1/2 c milk, 2 eggs, and half of all other ingredients. I also replaced half of the sugar (1/4 c) with 1/4 c honey. Baked at 350 for ~15 mins. Yields 12 muffins when you fill the cups about halfway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States