Mary Wynne's Crabapple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I found this recipe last year it was easy to read & understand the steps & the makes the best crabapple jelly. I gave it as christmas gifts last year & had several requests for it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
The recipe worked fine...I took the left over apples, put them through my hand miller and made some wonderful apple sauce. I added a cup of sugar and a pinch of cinnamon. It is very sweet/tart - but tasty and I used all of the apples. It will be a good sauce for roast pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Unfortunately ALLRECIPES changed the recipe significantly. We never simmer the juice for 10 minutes, or need to skim off any foam. It's a very simple process and the end result is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
this recipe is great i have 8 crabapple trees. so i make a lot of jelly. my family loves it i run out every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is the first time I have made crabapple jelly. We have several trees in our yard and have let them go to waste for a while. This year I decided to make jelly with them. This recipe is wonderful. I did have to add pectin to my boiling water because it was way to thin to set. I may have had to much water to begin with.. I would highly recommend this recipe.. The more sour the crabapples the better this comes out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Just made this jelly and it was sooo good. Have made lots of other jellies in the past, but always used pectin so I was a little anxious. This turned out perfectly jelled and clear. Definitely making more. Only thing I did different - did not quarter apples and I used a jelly bag. Also, I didn't have a cinnamon stick, so used ground cinnamon from a can. Next time want to use a stick. Took a long time to hit 220 degrees, but finally got there. The taste is so fresh - also loved when it was cooking - it smelled like candy apples!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a beautiful jelly. It is very easy to make and it jelled with no problem. I used 5cups of juice and 3 cups of sugar. I have also used 5 cups juice and 1 cup of honey, with a softer jelly but very yummy. Do not throw out leftover pulp during the juicing step. You can use it to make crabapple butter in the crock-pot. Just follow an apple butter recipe it is the same steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great recipe. I used it last year when the crab apples were plentiful. Crab apples weren't as good this year but I canned some stock last year and used it today with this recipe. I didn't use the cinnamon stick but might try it next time. I like the lesser amount of sugar in this recipe as compared to others. Also, 1 batch I made last year took a few days to set, I was starting to worry when it finally did set. The other batches set immediately. In summary, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petunialuvur
Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very easy to make; delicious results. I did have to add some pectin to get the jelly to thicken. No problem. Instead of a cinnamon stick, I put in 1 tsp. of cinnamon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great jelly! Easy recipe to follow. This was my maiden voyage for canning or jellying and it seems to have turned out quite successfully! This one goes in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States