Mary Wynne's Crabapple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was my first time making this jelly, I did have to add certo to it, I could not get it to gel, I did add more sugar but that did not help. The color was excellent and it does taste good! I will do this again next year, Lord willing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Callander, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is the first time I have made crabapple jelly. We have several trees in our yard and have let them go to waste for a while. This year I decided to make jelly with them. This recipe is wonderful. I did have to add pectin to my boiling water because it was way to thin to set. I may have had to much water to begin with.. I would highly recommend this recipe.. The more sour the crabapples the better this comes out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a beautiful jelly. It is very easy to make and it jelled with no problem. I used 5cups of juice and 3 cups of sugar. I have also used 5 cups juice and 1 cup of honey, with a softer jelly but very yummy. Do not throw out leftover pulp during the juicing step. You can use it to make crabapple butter in the crock-pot. Just follow an apple butter recipe it is the same steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I give up, I've tried this recipe twice now and I cannot get it to gel. I got the temp up to 224, but no gel. I even did one batch with Suregel pectin and no dice. The flavor was good, but man that was a lot of work. 5+ hours from the time I picked the apples to pulling them out of my canner. I now have 7 jars of "syrup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Wonderful! I ended up needing to double the recipe because I had so much juice. The first time I followed the recipe, my jelly didn't gel.(6+hours later) So I dumped all of the jars of jelly back into apot, rewashed all my jars and this time cooked the jelly for an additional 15 minutes abd reprocessed them in a water bath and they turned out perfect! SO pretty, so delicious. I am making more today. Thank you for a great recipe that doesn't need any additives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnatmo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Kind of hard to make--my crabapples do need pectin and don't produce as much juice. Tasty. Didn't gel as printed. Using as ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I found this recipe last year it was easy to read & understand the steps & the makes the best crabapple jelly. I gave it as christmas gifts last year & had several requests for it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I followed the recipe approximately--I'd already made 5 cups of juice from my crabapples before I read the recipe. So, I added 4 cups of sugar to my juice, and boiled them together until it reached the gel stage (220 for sea level, but almost 230 where I live at 5000 ft). It jelled right away, and I have four lovely cups of crabapple jelly. I really must go see if that crabapple tree has any good apples left because I'd like to make another batch of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michellyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
this recipe is great i have 8 crabapple trees. so i make a lot of jelly. my family loves it i run out every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
We found this recipe very easy to make, but it did not set at all. We were very disappointed in the time we spent making it for it not to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States