Mary Wynne's Crabapple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I found this recipe last year it was easy to read & understand the steps & the makes the best crabapple jelly. I gave it as christmas gifts last year & had several requests for it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I followed the recipe approximately--I'd already made 5 cups of juice from my crabapples before I read the recipe. So, I added 4 cups of sugar to my juice, and boiled them together until it reached the gel stage (220 for sea level, but almost 230 where I live at 5000 ft). It jelled right away, and I have four lovely cups of crabapple jelly. I really must go see if that crabapple tree has any good apples left because I'd like to make another batch of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michellyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
this recipe is great i have 8 crabapple trees. so i make a lot of jelly. my family loves it i run out every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
We found this recipe very easy to make, but it did not set at all. We were very disappointed in the time we spent making it for it not to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I think the success of this recipe must depend on how acidic your crabapples are. Mine were large and fairly sweet as far as crabapples go (I have no idea what variety they were, though)... so it did not jell. I had to add a box of Certo lite to make it jell. Once this was done, the flavour was great and the colour was so pretty.... I double-strained the juice, so I did not end up with a "weird consistency" like some reviewers said. Also, I needed a generous 8 cups of apples to get 3 cups of juice - not the four cups promised in the recipe. All-in-all, I would say that this recipe shows promise, but watch your "sour factor" in your apples - make sure it is high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Good tasting, took me 3 hrs from quartering to finish cooking. Yielded about 4 scant cups of jelly. Pretty color, smooth, a little thick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly as described and wound up with the result exactly as pictured. It was an easy fun project that my 11 year old daughter and I completed yesterday afternoon. We enjoyed the jelly on toast this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 46953
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Lovely recipe that is easy to make even for a first-time jelly maker. Takes a while for the jelly to set up so don't worry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 46953

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Unfortunately ALLRECIPES changed the recipe significantly. We never simmer the juice for 10 minutes, or need to skim off any foam. It's a very simple process and the end result is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
I am a first time jelly maker, but I followed the recipe to the best of my ability. I only yielded 2 cups of juice, instead of 4. Therefore, I only had to add half the sugar. After letting it simmer at 220 degrees I only ended up with 1 -8oz jar of jelly, instead of the stated 4 cups. It has a decent flavor but not a nice texture. It seems this recipe is from someones memory and not accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States