Mary Wynne's Crabapple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I just finished making this jelly however I had a problem trying to get the temperature up to 220. I was using a candy thermometer however the highest my jelly got (after half an hour trying to raise the temp) was 210. I'm still waiting for the jars to cool after I processed them so I'm not sure how it turned out yet. The stuff I skimmed off the top tasted great. So I hope this works. Any suggestions as to what I may have done wrong? I'm stumped as to why it wouldn't heat up to 220
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I started with a 5 gallon bucket of crabapples and by far the most time consuming part of the process was de-blooming and stemming. The jelly is the family's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I printed up this recipe for my husband, who had a large amount of crab apples that he wanted to make into jelly. Using this recipe - he had more problems, and it did not jell. Had to remake - boil -etc - pectin and most time consuming and frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very easy to make; delicious results. I did have to add some pectin to get the jelly to thicken. No problem. Instead of a cinnamon stick, I put in 1 tsp. of cinnamon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was my first time making this jelly, I did have to add certo to it, I could not get it to gel, I did add more sugar but that did not help. The color was excellent and it does taste good! I will do this again next year, Lord willing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Callander, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is the first time I have made crabapple jelly. We have several trees in our yard and have let them go to waste for a while. This year I decided to make jelly with them. This recipe is wonderful. I did have to add pectin to my boiling water because it was way to thin to set. I may have had to much water to begin with.. I would highly recommend this recipe.. The more sour the crabapples the better this comes out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a beautiful jelly. It is very easy to make and it jelled with no problem. I used 5cups of juice and 3 cups of sugar. I have also used 5 cups juice and 1 cup of honey, with a softer jelly but very yummy. Do not throw out leftover pulp during the juicing step. You can use it to make crabapple butter in the crock-pot. Just follow an apple butter recipe it is the same steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I give up, I've tried this recipe twice now and I cannot get it to gel. I got the temp up to 224, but no gel. I even did one batch with Suregel pectin and no dice. The flavor was good, but man that was a lot of work. 5+ hours from the time I picked the apples to pulling them out of my canner. I now have 7 jars of "syrup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Wonderful! I ended up needing to double the recipe because I had so much juice. The first time I followed the recipe, my jelly didn't gel.(6+hours later) So I dumped all of the jars of jelly back into apot, rewashed all my jars and this time cooked the jelly for an additional 15 minutes abd reprocessed them in a water bath and they turned out perfect! SO pretty, so delicious. I am making more today. Thank you for a great recipe that doesn't need any additives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnatmo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Kind of hard to make--my crabapples do need pectin and don't produce as much juice. Tasty. Didn't gel as printed. Using as ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States